We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colony South

Save Saved
You added Colony South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
Waterford, New York
1 review
“Careful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is an easy commute into DC with free shuttle services to the metro. The beds were comfortable. Those are the only positive amenities!!!! The pictures are very misleading!! Room was never cleaned. Pool not open, and bar closes when it wants not on scheduled hours. We let management know so that they were aware of the problem. Felt they were not really concerned or worried about fixing these problems for future guest. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peru, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first room they assigned us to have a smoke alarm that kept getting activated. The front desk and security told us it was normal for the moisture to trigger it. After the third time we demanded to be moved to another room.

The breakfast is terrible. The alleged buffet consists of three items. The pool and hot tub were not working. The bar closes at 10 but when we went into it at 9:15 we were told it was closed.

They never cleaned our room or made the bed. This place is terrible in the photos are misleading.

Every one of the terrible reviews is accurate. Stay away!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clinton hotels

Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is worth the money. I came to DC for an internship during the summer and wasn't quite sure if this hotel would meet my needs. After all, I didn't know where Clinton, MD was and I needed direct access to the metro in order to get back and forth to work. I called the hotel and the front desk staff was extremely friendly; the receptionist made me less apprehensive when she told me that the hotel had free shuttle service to the metro station at Branch Avenue. This was great. I checked into my room and didn't find any problems. It was clean, spacious and had water pressure in the shower. The rooms come equipped with a coffee pot, mini fridge and microwave. The housekeeping staff is really nice. I ate at the restaurant bar one night while I was there because they had $.50 wings on sale. The wings weren't the best but you can't beat that price. Students, summer interns, working professionals, families: this hotel is for you. I got a great on Hotwire for a week and it was less than $500. You won't find better value anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful. There is an indoor pool. They even have water aerobics. Outside there is a sitting area and in the back there is a patio area with a grill, tables with umbrellas and a small pond. It was a great place to stay.Easy access to DC without the hassle of parking. They have shuttle service to take you to the metro and they will pick you up there as well. Metro takes you right to DC, baseball stadium, waterfront, etc. Room was very clean. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice elegance in a convenient location - very close to DC, NASA, Six Flags, and other surrounding attractions on the DC beltway. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are okay - double beds are a bit small and the mattresses could be better but beds are good enough for a good night's sleep. Breakfast is not necessarily included free with your room, ask about offers because the breakfast is very nice in the hotel restaurant but need pay if you don't have it included free. No worries because at the next exit down the road there are many places to eat including Starbucks, etc. Hotel has a pool and gym, free wi-fi and complimentary "business area" with printer but there is only one computer. Staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Angeline in housekeeping - very personable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In lack of better accomodation we booked this hotel 2 days prior to arrival. We stayed two nights. Check in was motel standard. Ordinary.

The rooms are clean and nice. No complaints there. The side door (into the hotel) card swipers does not work.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the first day. This was the most awkward experience ever. The hotel charges you 7 something dollars per person for the so called breakfast buffé. Apparently you can get coupons from the front desk, but this was not mentioned at check in. Anyway, the breakfast itself was extremly poor. This is what you get from the buffé: eggs, sauseage, toast, butter. THIS IS IT! Federal prisoners get more on their breakfast plate than what is offered at the "buffé". And the food itself tasted like microwaved goo. And for all this, the staff expected a tip. SERIOUSLY?!

If you are staying at this motel/hotel eat your breakfast elsewhere!

Also beware of the dresscode policy at this facility certain days of the week.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

For the price tha hotel was ok, metro into the city was fast and frequent.
The hotel has a shuttle to take you to the metro BUT only leaves on the hour.

Our frist 3 rides on the shuttle were not pleasent.

First morning we get in the van and set off the van is dirty and smells, we have to turn back to collect 2 more women from the hotel. The driver and one of the women he collects are both not happy and argue most of the way about the timing of the set off, only settles down when the driver threatens to pull over and leave the woman. Not a nice situation for my 6 and 3 year olds.
On returning that day we called the hotel 3 stops before as advised, was told van was there and would wait. When we arrived no van and after 4 more calls with the hotel saying they didnt know where the shuttle van was it finally arrived after an hour waiting in the hot hot weather, by that time too many people were waiting we could not all fit in.

The Second morning van sets off and drives round the carpark with the two side doors wide open! Anyone could of fallen out or been hit by the door. Not safe with so many young children in the van.

They advertise a Bar, restaurant and coffee shop, we tried to go to the bar to get a drink but it was over 25s only from 5.30pm that night- Wednesday! and almost every night it had a cover charge advestered by reception. The coffee shop does not serve tea not even hot water.. Think they took the name literally.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the caroark we were woken most night by loud drunk people leaving the bar.

There are NO resturants near here except in the hotel.

Room Tip: Shuttle service only runs on the hour and stops at 7 on a weekend, nothing to do near hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of professionalism you experienced on the shuttle. We pride ourselves in great customer service as I suspect you saw throughout the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. We are very much aware of the issue that took place that day and it has been resolved. Please reach out to me personally at millicentp@colonysouth.com. Before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Nation's Capital and all Southern Maryland has to offer The Colony features over 195 guest rooms and suites, which are spacious and newly decorated, just minutes from Andrews, Fed-Ex Field, Washington DC, Six Flags and more.With an indoor Pool, Spa and fitness center, you can end the day enjoying a relaxing and sumptuous dining experience in our Wayfarer Restaurant, enjoying a cocktail while listening to live bands in our Decoy Lounge, or begin the day with a fresh cup of coffee & pastry in the morning offered by our Cafe. The primary choice in our region for Weddings and Catered events our elegant Cotillion Ballroom is the perfect setting for a corporate business meeting or the most delicate and beautiful wedding featuring over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.