We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay with kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colony South

Save Saved
You added Colony South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not a place to stay with kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For the price tha hotel was ok, metro into the city was fast and frequent.
The hotel has a shuttle to take you to the metro BUT only leaves on the hour.

Our frist 3 rides on the shuttle were not pleasent.

First morning we get in the van and set off the van is dirty and smells, we have to turn back to collect 2 more women from the hotel. The driver and one of the women he collects are both not happy and argue most of the way about the timing of the set off, only settles down when the driver threatens to pull over and leave the woman. Not a nice situation for my 6 and 3 year olds.
On returning that day we called the hotel 3 stops before as advised, was told van was there and would wait. When we arrived no van and after 4 more calls with the hotel saying they didnt know where the shuttle van was it finally arrived after an hour waiting in the hot hot weather, by that time too many people were waiting we could not all fit in.

The Second morning van sets off and drives round the carpark with the two side doors wide open! Anyone could of fallen out or been hit by the door. Not safe with so many young children in the van.

They advertise a Bar, restaurant and coffee shop, we tried to go to the bar to get a drink but it was over 25s only from 5.30pm that night- Wednesday! and almost every night it had a cover charge advestered by reception. The coffee shop does not serve tea not even hot water.. Think they took the name literally.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the caroark we were woken most night by loud drunk people leaving the bar.

There are NO resturants near here except in the hotel.

Room Tip: Shuttle service only runs on the hour and stops at 7 on a weekend, nothing to do near hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of professionalism you experienced on the shuttle. We pride ourselves in great customer service as I suspect you saw throughout the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. We are very much aware of the issue that took place that day and it has been resolved. Please reach out to me personally at millicentp@colonysouth.com. Before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked this place because we were on a very tight budget. It's far enough outside D.C. to beat the city prices, but if you avoid rush hour, still only about 20 minutes from the capitol building. The room was clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff were great. As was true for a couple other reviewers, we didn't use the small indoor pool because it was always crowded with kids or a movement class; yes, the front desk staff were a bit distracted at times, and the coin-op laundry was out of detergent, (there is a Wallmart very close). However, for the money, it was a steal, especially when booked in an Orbitz combo deal with the rental car. (Medium size car and king bed room were only $540 for six days). Skip the deal offering to include their buffet breakfast. Travelling with my nephew, we had booked a room with two double beds and had to share a king bed instead. They said they'd overbooked, and would move us when the room type we'd ordered opened up. We inquired again twice more during our stay and then just gave up on that. If you are a history buff, check out the Surrat boarding house museum down the road. Mary Surrat was the woman who was hung as a participant in the Lincoln assassination conspiracy. Overall, not a bad experience and we'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the review of the Colony South Hotel and Conference Center. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great place to stay if visiting Washington. Its outside the city and it is quiet. Had the best sleep outside from my own bed. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We even had a balcony with rocking chairs. Nice indoor pool and gym. We didnt eat at the restaurant but it seemed nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony, its nice to sit and relax after a long day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I talked with the manager (Fernando) before booking my room and got excellent service. The room was spacious and very quiet. The other reviews are correct when they say that the club is extremely busy on the weekends but it didn't bother us. The shuttle to and from the Branch Ave Metro station was very convenient. All of the staff was friendly and courteous to us. We had a great visit!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the north side are very quiet! Definitely talk to the manager before booking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found this hotel via Bookit.com and when we arrived I went to the front desk to check in and the man behind the counter didn't even realize I was there because he was staring at some girls coming from the other direction. We were there for3 days and were only able to use the pool once for about an hour, they were either cleaning it or had a class. We tried to do laundry but the soap machine was out of all laundry detergent. We went to breakfast and were told that we had to have coupons, which the guy at the front desk did not provide because he was obviously distracted. When we finally got our coupons, after running back an forth between front desk and restaurant we had a buffet available. We found out on our 2nd day that we were also allowed to order from a menu, which we did. The eggs Benedict was the worst, muffin was not toasted, 2 very thin slices of ham, a HARD boiled egg and a dollop of hollandaise sauce. We left the hotel at 9am and didn't return till after 4pm...our room had not been cleaned. We asked the cleaning lady in the hall for more towels and she told us to tell the other girl. There was no other girl!! All this and all anyone would say was 'sorry,. I absolutely would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, try to get a room close to the elevators. The halls are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clinton hotels

Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Free breakfast, close to Andrews AFB, helpful and pleasant staff, and overall excellent place to stay compared to the chains. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling to Andrews or anywhere in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I live in Clinton, MD and my parents came up from North Carolina for my graduation. Upon arriving my parents checked-in and were given keys to their room. When they went up to their room after a 6 hour road trip, the room was not clean. They told the front desk, who apologized and said it would be clean when they came back later. My parents had to change at my house for the graduation, attended the graduation and after party; upon returning to their room at 11PM, the room STILL WAS NOT CLEAN. They were exhausted and finally the front desk moved them to another room at nearly midnight.

This was completely unacceptable. My parents left North Carolina early that morning for my graduation and did not get to put their bags down, take a nap or even freshen up until midnight. This is completely shameful on the part of the Colony South.

Also, there is a club or something in the hotel because on a Saturday night it was people EVERYWHERE. All over the lobby, in the halls, sitting in every possible spot imaginable in the lobby.

Do yourself a favor and stay at the Towneplace Suites by Marriott, if you must stay in Clinton.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a Saturday night if you want peace and quiet. There is a club or something in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Nation's Capital and all Southern Maryland has to offer The Colony features over 195 guest rooms and suites, which are spacious and newly decorated, just minutes from Andrews, Fed-Ex Field, Washington DC, Six Flags and more.With an indoor Pool, Spa and fitness center, you can end the day enjoying a relaxing and sumptuous dining experience in our Wayfarer Restaurant, enjoying a cocktail while listening to live bands in our Decoy Lounge, or begin the day with a fresh cup of coffee & pastry in the morning offered by our Cafe. The primary choice in our region for Weddings and Catered events our elegant Cotillion Ballroom is the perfect setting for a corporate business meeting or the most delicate and beautiful wedding featuring over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.