We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Super clean! Nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12426 Houck Avenue, Clear Spring, MD 21722   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clear Spring
toledo, oh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place! Super clean! Nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Checked in rather late, around midnight, staff was very friendly even offering our kids snacks or milk since it was so late. Promptly grabbed us a pack and play for the baby which was also in excellent condition and clean. The breakfast room was very clean and all new. The rooms were super clean and very nicely appointed, decorated and plenty of space unlike some sleep inns.

The bathroom was clean, and check out was painless and the kids loved the breakfast the next morning. Was a great place for a quick stop over.

Room Tip: We had a double suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our property. I will share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncansville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here last summer for a function in Hancock, MD. Looks great from the inside, but don't outside after dark. It looked like a Sunday football tailgate party, but only with bikers. There were numerous people drinking and having a great time in the parking lot. All the outside garbage cans were filled with beer bottles and cans. There is a rowdy bar that is in the back corner of the one parking lot. All night long groups would come stumbling out of the woods into the parking lot and make their way over to the tailgate parties.

This wasn't a very appropriate place for our children. Seems like they cater to the "race" crowd for some rack track down the road. Our room was supposed to be a king bed with a pull out sofa, but only got a king bed. Staff was friendly, but I would never stay here again, even if it was free.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I would like to apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to meet all guests needs and in this case we didn't do that for your visit and would like to speak with you if you have the time. Please call the hotel and ask for Matt or Jim so we can speak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We made the short trip from DC, so that we could hit the slopes early at Whitetail. Our room was clean and quiet. My only complaint, and it is small, is that our room faced the front of the hotel and the black out curtains weren't long enough. Quite a bit of light came in and I'm a picky sleeper, so I would have been happy if they were longer. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Same can be said for the woman who worked the breakfast room in the morning. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room in the back would be darker? We were directly over the entrance on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. We will look into that room and make sure the correct curtains were hung in the room. If you are in town again ask for Matt and he will make sure you receive a room in the back of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for a night so we could ski at Whitetail for 2 days. We had 4 families in 3 rooms and could not have been more pleased. Hotel was spotless, beds and bathrooms great, perfect climate control, pool good size and clean, breakfast fine, price outstanding, great pizza (really!!) at the convenience store across the road. Best of all, when my son discovered, 4 hours after we had checked out, that he left his iPod charger in the room, we went back and they had it in a plastic bag with our room number, saved for us behind the desk. That has NEVER happened to me in 40 years of traveling!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words on your stay with us. I will share your comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed our stay after a night of tubing at Whitetail. The hotel was clean, staff courteous, and breakfast delicious! A big thank-you to Matt Neil for helping us with items forgotten in the room!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here while we skiied Whitetail. There is no denying that it is a great location for those skiing at Whitetail, and I do agree that the people working there were very nice. The pool looked very nice, the hotel was clean, and the room was clean as well. In general it is a nice, average hotel. I do have to say that the mattress was quite uncomfortable (both my wife and I noticed just how bad it was), and the breakfast really was kind of nasty. They do have the standard waffle maker, cerear, bagels, etc ... but the omlett and sausage was quite sketchy and gross. They did have hard boiled eggs, so I could go for that with yogurt and toast, but that was about it.

This hotel is the best choice for skiing Whitetail and the price was reasonable. As I said, it is clean and the rooms were decent. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taken time out of your busy day to write a review. We take pride on having a clean comfortable hotel for our guest and will reviw breakfast for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn and Suites again last weekend, and things have gotten even better. From additional items included in the free hot breakfast (make your own waffles, pre-made little cheese omletes, and sausage) to closer supervision at the pool (pool and hot tube were clear), we enjoyed everything about our stay.
It isn't the Four Seasons, but for a place to stop for the night while traveling on Rt 70 or as a homebase for skiing at White Tail or while in town visiting other sites, you cannot beat the price. The beds are comfortable and although the linens aren't very high end, everything was very clean.
The staff is friendly and accomidating and the guests well behaved. There were a few kids running around early, but everything was quiet by 10 and stayed quiet until after 8 the next morning.
We contemplated staying at a little higher end hotel in Hagerstown, but between the prices and proximity to White Tail, we again picked the Sleep Inn.
Make sure you try the nearby Clear Spring Country Diner - best fried chicken I've ever tasted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator. Recommend the ground floor near the south end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I want to thank you for for your continued business and will share your comments with our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring

Address: 12426 Houck Avenue, Clear Spring, MD 21722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Clear Spring
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clear Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Clear Spring
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring Hotel Clear Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.