We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getter better...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12426 Houck Avenue, Clear Spring, MD 21722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clear Spring
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Getter better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn and Suites again last weekend, and things have gotten even better. From additional items included in the free hot breakfast (make your own waffles, pre-made little cheese omletes, and sausage) to closer supervision at the pool (pool and hot tube were clear), we enjoyed everything about our stay.
It isn't the Four Seasons, but for a place to stop for the night while traveling on Rt 70 or as a homebase for skiing at White Tail or while in town visiting other sites, you cannot beat the price. The beds are comfortable and although the linens aren't very high end, everything was very clean.
The staff is friendly and accomidating and the guests well behaved. There were a few kids running around early, but everything was quiet by 10 and stayed quiet until after 8 the next morning.
We contemplated staying at a little higher end hotel in Hagerstown, but between the prices and proximity to White Tail, we again picked the Sleep Inn.
Make sure you try the nearby Clear Spring Country Diner - best fried chicken I've ever tasted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator. Recommend the ground floor near the south end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I want to thank you for for your continued business and will share your comments with our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
47
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had an excellent stay. Staff pleasant; room an excellent value -- clean, spacious and a generous breakfast with choices to please any diet. Parking plentiful; fireplace and the indoor pool/whirlpool welcomed after skiing. Near-by dinner options are locally owned (not chain) and very welcoming. Would definitely stay again -- kudos to the cleaning, desk and maintenance staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I will share your comments with the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our ski instructor from Whitetail Ski Resort. I read the online reviews and saw the pictures before I made reservations. Every person I spoke to from the hotel, from reservations to the front desk, was very nice and helpful. So I was very hopeful.

The room smelled like smoke and the carpet was sticky and just generally filthy, which made everything else in the room suspect. I confirmed with the front desk that we had a nonsmoking room. Had we arrived earlier and knew the area better, we would have switched hotels.

The pool and hot tub was full of screaming kids and the water looked green, as if it were a mixture of chlorine and pee. It looked so bad, my two small kids, after a look, decided to skip the pool. A wise choice because we talked to others skiers the next day, whose kids were still itchy after being in that pool.

We figured we were there to ski and decided to use the hotel as nothing more than a place to sleep. Not surprising there were unsupervised kids running around until after 10pm. Perhaps it was because our room was in the corridor next to the pool. At one point in the night around 10:30pm, I went outside and found two boys (about 10 years old) playing hide and seek in the hall. I asked them where their room was and they scampered away.

The only redeeming quality of this hotel was its staff. They need to air all the rooms and get their carpets cleaned. I still icky from the carpet.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Sorry to hear about your stay but I would like to speak with you over the phone about your issues. If you have time please call the property and ask for Jim or Matt. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Needed a room for the nite so reserved a room there at an incredibly reasonable $78 for a king room with microwave and mini-fridge. Very convenient location right off the interstate. Staff was very helpful upon check-in and the hotel was immaculate.Seems like fairly new construction but plenty of evidence of good housekeeping. I will definitely stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was pretty good to boot. It was set up 15 minutes ahead of schedule too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowxtreme1, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Lou C.,

Thank you for your kind comments. We try extremely hard to provide the best stay for every guest and provide all the comforts of home.

Thanks again.

Brian Le Platt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here. Checked in about 8 pm after 12 hours on the road. Apparently the guy in the room next to us thought my two year old was a little loud and called our room directly and threatened us. Complained to front desk and they turned his phone off. Guessing this made him mad because he proceeded to pound on the wall. Another trip to front desk and clerk said only option was to give us another room. Ended up leaving and getting a full refund. Left message for manager to call me and never recieved call. Called the corporate office to report.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowxtreme1, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Edbell,

Please accept my apology for the problems that you incurred during your stay. I did get a message to contact you, which I did and left several messages. I would like to discuss this issue more in depth with you at a time that is convenient for you.

You can reach me by phone at 301-842-0290 or by email at gm.md217@choicehotels.com

Thank you.

Brian Le Platt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Due to Hurricane Sandy, we lost power & were forced to stay in a hotel. The Sleep Inn was a perfect fit. They were even able to accomodate our Golden Retriever. Our room was clean & offered a microwave, refrigerator & safe. The bed & pillows were very comfy. Most important, the hotel was extremely quiet....never heard a peep out of any of our neighbors. The hotel offers a pool, so pack your swim suit. The breakfast was more than we could ask for....bagels, muffins, doughnuts, waffles, omelets, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt & beverages. Having to leave your home under these circumstances is never easy, but the Sleep Inn was a true savior. Highly recommend & would return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Our family and crew were racing at Hagerstown Speedway and needed the closest hotel to the track, since I'm a choice hotel employee at another Sleep Inn it worked out perfect! Staff was welcoming and perfectly fine with the trucks and trailers parked in the end lot. Plenty of parking, super clean and very spacious and cozy rooms. Along with everything else, the breakfast was also perfect, this hotel had everything that anyone would want with there breakfast in the morning. Very friendly front desk staff as well. Definitely will be back when racing at Hagerstown again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring

Address: 12426 Houck Avenue, Clear Spring, MD 21722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Clear Spring
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clear Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Clear Spring
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring Hotel Clear Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.