We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chevy Chase Maryland is the place to stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chevy Chase Maryland is the place to stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Julius, is the man; the concierge; the bellman; the glue that makes this average hotel chain, an above and beyond experience. From my arrival at the hotel, to my bags in my room, to recommendations for dinner, to taxis, to suitcases, to great conversation....Julius reigns supreme. Julius made an average stay at an average chain hotel, memorable. He deserves each and every tip. Check in was mediocre, the rooms size was nice...the eco friendly toilet dripped all night, but each room has a fridge and a couch...with plenty of space to move around. While there is no complimentary breakfast or even breakfast or lunch options, (as far as other than the snacks), there are plenty of restaurants that are in walking distance, Clydes across the street, PF Chang's down the street, Panera Bread around the corner, Starbucks 1 block away, to make this a great place to stay. In addition, if you like high end retail, Louis Vuitton; Saks Fifth Avenue; Lord and Taylor, etc you are in the right place. Say hello to Julius!

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Stephanie L, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Hats off to Julius who made your stay extraordinary! We do receive a lot of comments about him and his level of customer service - so glad you enjoyed your time here because of him. Our restaurant Trattoria 5520 offers breakfast 7 days a week; everything from bagels and coffee to a full omelet with all the fixings. I am sorry you didn't have a chance to enjoy that during your stay. As you mention, we do not offer lunch service in Trattoria 5520 on Saturday or Sunday since most guests are out and about town but we do offer it Monday through Friday. If you have a chance to stay with us during the week please check it out. Next time you stay with us please be sure to let us know if you have an issue with anything in your room - we'll send someone up to fix it right away. Trying to sleep with a dripping toilet is not how we want you to remember your stay! Thanks again for your comments, we appreciate them! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was clean. Staff was very pleasant and very helpful.. Easy to get around using the subway. Fifteen minute subway ride to the museums, Washington Monument and the Capitol. High end shopping right outside the door.

Room Tip: room is nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Melissa G, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. It's nice to know that you also enjoyed our location close to Metro and that it was convenient for you to get to the downtown sites and attractions! Having great shopping nearby is definitely a plus; hope you got to enjoy some after Christmas sales! Come back for a visit again soon. Sincerely, A.Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel!!!! Perfect location!! There is a metro station 2 blocks away. the front staff could not have been more helpful. We needed 3 rooms all with double beds. They totally accommodated us.Hotel is very clean. One morning we got downstairs late as the kitchen was closing . 5 kids wanted breakfast.the waiter went back and the "kitchen" said yes the will make the breakfast! Flat out nice!! not to mention it was really good!!! Tons of shopping and places to eat after a long day of sightseeing! At night we played cards in the lobby well actually the restaurant tables ...no one said get out of here ....The staff could not have been nicer!!!! Just a perfect place to stay!!!! We looked forward to returning each night from DC... the worst part was to figure out where to eat with so many choices to choose from. the rooms are a lil tight but very clean and comfy! the TV had a nice selection of HD channels. Would come back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EATHOTDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Although I found the hotel to be very nice - the walls are paper thin. So much that we received a complaint at 6PM that we were being too noisy !! If you are staying with kids - I would recommend another hotel !!!

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Dear Topetalk, I am so sorry you received a complaint about being too noisy! We want all of our guests to feel right at home when they stay with us. Rather than you staying elsewhere please try us out again and feel free to let us know at check-in that you have kids (and they will be kids) and you'd like a room where they won't be expected to behave like adults! Glad to hear you found the hotel comfortable otherwise. Hope to see you and your children back in the future. Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Basic rooms with coffee machine. Bathrooms are a little cramped. The location is incredible. Walking distance from upscale shopping area. Near metro. The staff is very friendly. The boarding pass computers were not working which I was told is a frequent challenge. Don't leave printing your boarding pass for the last minute. Fourth computer in the business center was the charm!

Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DeeMJ303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, December 14, 2015
Dear DeeMJ303, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the nice compliment on the friendliness of our staff and our great location. Sorry the room space was cramped for you. Our building is quite old and we did the best we could with the space after renovating and rebranding the hotel back in 2008. We hope the charm of the staff and the area make up for it! I am very happy that you were able to print your boarding pass in our business center. We will be directing guests to use those computers first while we have the boarding pass computers serviced. Thanks for the heads up! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic and incredible service along with perfect location and nice rooms. Beds and pillows comfy! Clean! Had five meals - all good! Parking reasonable and nice lobby. All the people nice whether housekeeping, management or front desk.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurabsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, December 14, 2015
Dear Laurabsachs, Thank you for rating our service fantastic and for the great comments on our staff. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms and lobby to be nice and the beds comfy! It is great that you enjoyed five meals with us during your stay – we are happy you liked the food. We look forward to having you back as our guest sometime soon! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

The only negative about this hotel is that the rooms feel small-not typical for a Courtyard hotel.
Was met at drive in by a porter that took care of everything!:)
Check in was efficient and friendly.
Bistro was friendly and handled my special requests with no complaints.
I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, December 14, 2015
Dear Wayne S, Thank you for mentioning our check-in staff was friendly and efficient. I am glad you enjoyed being greeted by our Bellman and that he took care of you. I am so sorry the room felt small to you. Our hotel was built in 1979 but not as a Courtyard (it was an entirely different brand). Due to the age of the building we were unable to make changes to the existing room size. However, we are very excited that you enjoyed your meal and staff in our restaurant Trattoria 5520 and will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
U Street Corridor
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing