We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More ups than downs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“More ups than downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

After a three day stay, I would probably stay here again, but would check the rates on other hotels in the area first. The high point is that the hotel has been recently renovated and the public areas and rooms were spotless...one of my priority evaluation points for a hotel stay. The lobby is pleasantly colorful, but is very small and while the designer did the best they could with the space, I felt as if I was running an obstacle course around the furniture and guests at the front desk (podiums) every time I came in. The business center area of the lobby and restaurant also overlap. It's a strange layout that tries to fit all the hotel functions into an area too small for them all...but, it's do-able if a bit tight.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but not always well-informed. Housekeeping was overly zealous and threw away boxed food we had left in the room for later. We were offered a meal as replacement, a delicious breakfast in the small hotel restaurant, however, the offer was made later and was not communicated to the restaurant staff or the manager the next morning. This was remedied with absolutely no argument on the hotel's part. When we took one of the three elevators down to the lobby along with a hotel employee, the doors failed to open and we were told "this happens sometimes." Ummm, if you are aware of this ongoing problem, should it not be fixed? Doors were pried open and we did not get on that elevator again.

We stayed in a king bed (extremly comfortable) room that was spacious enough, but would be a lot tighter with two beds. The bathroom is small and has an odd layout, but it works well enough. No tub, only a shower. Low-flow-optional toilet. Again, the room was immaculately clean.

Parking is in an underground garage and is limited and very tight. However, at $15 a day, it's a bargain in DC. You'll pay at least $25 or more downtown, more for valet. Close proximity to the Metro station (2-3 blocks) and high end shops is one of the hotel's best features. There are several restaurants in easy walking distance, more close by if you have a car. We ate at Clyde's (a DC area chain) and Indique Heights, both were very good. Popi's(?) Pizza closer to Nebraska Ave. was also good if you have a car for carryout or the appeared to deliver. The hotel is also close to AMerican University, but definitely not within walking distance.

All in all, an okay stay, more good than bad.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    89
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
73
31
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We made the reservation over the internet...and you are never REALLY sure what you will find. This hotel was EXCELLENT! It is well located for METRO, shopping, and a variety of restaurants. It was squeaky clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful! It seemed to have been recently redecorated, and it was beautiful with lots of bright, happy colors! Internet access in lobby was great (I had not brought my own computer)! Parking was handy and the price for parking was good by DC standards! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

This hotel is within walking distance of the Friendship Heights Metro Station and many high end shops. There are also many nice restaurants nearby. The room was clean but the bed was extremely firm and uncomfortable. We tried calling the front desk to see if they had an "egg crate" or something to give us to add a little padding. The hotel staff brought us some extra blankets and pillows to try to help but there was just no getting comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Made a reservation for Feb 6th - but a record blizzard hit the DC / Mid Atlantic area that day, shutting the city and stopping all transportation. I was (obviously) unable to make it into DC - a state of emergency having been declared anyway. Since I had purchased a non-refundable reservation, I asked the hotel for a rain check, not a refund. The hotel refused. They have both my $109, as well as much ill will from a frequent traveler. I will NEVER stay there, and urge others to beware.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Redone recently,modern clean and nice rooms,well located...reception staff ok some looked tired...bar-dining area very clean and very nice staff..try the yougurt with granola and berries for breakfast.. it is excellent..in general a good stay..only complain is we had noicy neigbors across the hall for a while....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel is located in a perfect location with all the shopping / restaurants within 2 blocks.
With the Metro, movies, great restaurants, all the retail, I will make sure I choose this hotel on my next DC visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My review is simple:
wonderful hotel, comfortable, squeeky clean rooms.
great bistro at the lobby - wonderful breakfast. and reasonably priced.
the staff is helpful and cordial.
great location: two blocks from Friendship Heights metro station. (red line).
two blocks from a wonderful shopping area (on the street not a mall) with lots of great stores and restauranrs. even a huge supermarket ('Giant').
perfect stay. fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.