We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the record blizzard, they refused to issue a rain check for my reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
NY NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Despite the record blizzard, they refused to issue a rain check for my reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Made a reservation for Feb 6th - but a record blizzard hit the DC / Mid Atlantic area that day, shutting the city and stopping all transportation. I was (obviously) unable to make it into DC - a state of emergency having been declared anyway. Since I had purchased a non-refundable reservation, I asked the hotel for a rain check, not a refund. The hotel refused. They have both my $109, as well as much ill will from a frequent traveler. I will NEVER stay there, and urge others to beware.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    89
    40
    6
    9
See reviews for
78
31
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Redone recently,modern clean and nice rooms,well located...reception staff ok some looked tired...bar-dining area very clean and very nice staff..try the yougurt with granola and berries for breakfast.. it is excellent..in general a good stay..only complain is we had noicy neigbors across the hall for a while....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel is located in a perfect location with all the shopping / restaurants within 2 blocks.
With the Metro, movies, great restaurants, all the retail, I will make sure I choose this hotel on my next DC visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My review is simple:
wonderful hotel, comfortable, squeeky clean rooms.
great bistro at the lobby - wonderful breakfast. and reasonably priced.
the staff is helpful and cordial.
great location: two blocks from Friendship Heights metro station. (red line).
two blocks from a wonderful shopping area (on the street not a mall) with lots of great stores and restauranrs. even a huge supermarket ('Giant').
perfect stay. fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from a wedding in Delaware, and wanted to have a couple of days to see the sights in DC. What a wonderful spot we chose!! This newly remodeled hotel was in an incredibly safe neighborhood that someone described as the "Beverly Hills of the east coast" with high end shops and good restaurants, and only 2 blocks from the metro station that took us into DC. The staff was great, and allowed us an early arrival. The room was imaculate, and well decorated. Our bathroom was very spacious and had a huge walk in shower. The bed was very comfy, and we had extra pillows. There was a coffee bar as well as a refrigerator and microwave. And the weekend rate of $109 plus $15 for parking was a real bargain. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for a week. It was nice to see the old Holiday Inn completely renovated. Nice location if you want to be close to shopping and dining of Chevy Chase. Everything was new and comfy.. I would not hesitate to stay over at the hotel again and again. Lobby smell is nice - ignore the earlier comments - it is like a scented candle smell.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I stayed at the Chevy Chase Marriott in July and I was quite pleased with it. The hotel was clean, except for a strange odor in the lobby area. The room was small, but cozy. There was a flat panel TV in the room that got really hot to the point that I could feel the heat radiating from it whenever I passed by. The bathroom was cool except that the shower handle seemed to have been shoved in instead of screwed on, so it kept falling off when I turned on the shower.

Overall, this was an extremely convenient location. There are restaurants close by (including a Cheesecake Factory and a Starbucks). A Giant Eagle is right around the corner, and there are a number of other stores in the area. It is extremely close to the Metro Station, and there are wonderful shopping opportunities around.

I really enjoyed staying here because of the convenience of the location. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. I thank Jurry (the front desk supervisor) and the rest of the staff for making my stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.