We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel, Marriott style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel, Marriott style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in downtown Chevy chase , Md easy parking underneath for 15 a day, the staff was very nice in checking in, room was very clean and with updates. Starbucks coffee available in lobby, along with breakfast for a fee. The room also had an updated plug in panel on the desk for chargers and iPads a welcome change for most hotels..
Overall I enjoyed my stay and will be back.. Located across the street from Tiffany's and Saks 5th ave for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear tinkerman33, It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and the hotel updated. I am especially happy that you appreciated our technology panel on the guestroom desk - it really does seem to satisfy all the different "plug in" needs travelers have these days! It is also great to hear you'll be back as our guest again soon. Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    112
    46
    6
    10
See reviews for
87
36
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this Chevy Chase hotel every two months for six years. I always enjoy my stay. The employees are wonderful friendly people who are helpful and efficient. The rooms are large and always clean. This Courtyard has a restaurant with a full menu and offers room service. The food is high quality and the offerings fairly diverse. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Scottsarti, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We value all of the customer feedback we receive and especially those who stay with us frequently and use our services and amenities over and over. We are very happy you enjoy our hotel and the quality and variety of our menu. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Chef and let the rest of the staff know you enjoy staying with us! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We've stayed here often. It's clean. The staff is friendly. The pool and gym are well equipped. The restaurant has a nice selection for breakfast. It's convenient to shopping, restaurants and the metro.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dbobman1, thank you for staying with us frequently! We are glad you enjoy our staff, location and amenities and appreciate your review of our hotel. We look forward to having you back again soon! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Southampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard on business, hotel was functional, clean, rooms OK and it was close to a number of shops and good places to eat so I would stay there on business but not as a holiday hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear PrinceyNaz, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are happy you chose to stay with us recently and that you found our hotel to be functional, clean and in a good location to shops and restaurants. We look forward to having you back the next time business brings you to the area. Sincerely, A.Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Good location, clean rooms without closets, very small fitness center and very few amenities.

WiFi works like AOL dial-up - it connects at a snail's pace.

There's a reason this is not branded a full service Marriott.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 18, 2015
Dear EasyTraveler2000, Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for mentioning that our rooms are clean and our location met your needs. I wish to better understand your comments that our "...rooms without closets" and we had "very few amenities". Please feel free to contact me at the hotel main number if you wish to let me know which room you stayed in and what amenities you were anticipating. All of our guestrooms have closets with safes and iron/boards. I am thinking perhaps you stayed in our one bedroom suite? In that case the bedroom closet is a large free standing armoire. If you did stay in our suite I apologize that our bellman did not point this out if he assisted you to your room. It sounds like our front desk associate missed the opportunity at check-in to advise you of the hotels amenities such as a taxi stand, seasonal swimming pool, washers/dryers, full service restaurant with evening room service, 24 hour market, 24 business center, meeting/banquet services and boarding pass station. As one of Marriott's Modern Essentials Brands we should be letting you know all the wonderful perks this Courtyard offers right when you arrive! I see that you did use our 24 hour fitness room and am sorry you found it to be small. I am also sorry you experienced issues with the internet service, we upgraded to 100 MB two years ago which seemed to take care of the slow service back then. If you have connectivity issues again plase don't hesitate to call our front desk so they can run a speed test and investigate the issue immediately with our provider. We want your stay to go smoothly whether it is for business or pleasure and know that speedy internet service is a must! Again don't hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We stayed at the Marriott for two nights before heading to florida. We always use Marriott since we do their program, plus being an elite member we usually get bonuses in our rooms. I asked to be upgraded to a high rise room, we stayed on the third floor. I asked for extra pillows, not provided. It does not come with complimentary parking so you have to pay $15 a night, not much but we've done NYC, DC and they give the complimentary parking when using AARP card. Breakfast? of course not. I mean, location wise is great, we had restaurants and shopping around us, but for that price we could've stayed somewhere nicer, where the plugs did work and provided small bottles of water.
The building itself is completely outdated, and when you're driving into the parking lot, it's the creepiest thing, unclean, humid, poor light. Let me not get to the bathroom...the towels seemed old and not white, they looked gray and had holes. The whole experience was deplorable.

Would I recommend this one courtyard? NO
Please look somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear frequentflyeragain, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is obvious that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and I am very sorry for that. I wish we had the opportunity to personally discuss your stay so I could follow up on how we missed your request for extra pillows, why your towels were subpar and what the issue was with the outlets in your room. Free parking and breakfast is not included in our regular or membership rates (AARP, AAA) nor is it a Courtyard brand standard. But if you booked a package with your AARP membership that included both we should have given you vouchers at check-in for those amenities. Again, I am sorry if you booked a package and somehow we missed that. We frequently hear comments that the parking facility is difficult to navigate. Unfortunately, we do not own or operate the garage; it just happens to be adjacent to the hotel so we offer our guests the convenience of paying their overnight fee on your room account. Our front desk agents should be instructing guests to drive slowly through the garage and to park near the green pillars to access our hotel elevator on the garage level. Again I am very sorry that your experience at the hotel and the adjacent garage was such that you would not stay with us again nor recommend our hotel. I do hope we have the opportunity to speak so I am better able to make corrections/adjustments in the areas where we fell short. Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadyside, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We stayed 3 nights Friday, May 1 -4, 2015. The check in was great and quick. The room was lovely. King bed with sofa in the room and a refrigerator and coffee pot. The halls looked like new carpeting and the placed smelled so clean everywhere. The staff were so pleasant, like they were greeting old friends. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we had a very nice view and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Irene L, Thank you for taking time to write such nice comments about our hotel. I am very happy you were pleased with the efficiency of check-in and that you enjoyed your King room accommodations and the view. We appreciate your business and are glad that we made you feel like an "old friend". Come back again soon! Sincerely, A. Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.