We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here last week while visiting family in the area. The restaurant is first rate with attentive staff and good menu choices. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a great area for shopping and dining. This was our second stay here and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    118
    47
    6
    10
See reviews for
92
37
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed here while visiting our son at a nearby college. The rooms are a tight squeeze for a king-sized bed with a queen sleeper sofa. We have stayed in the same room twice, which wasn't large enough for a real closet and the bathroom, which is small, has a large column blocking a portion of the room, but it's clean and the price is quite reasonable. All three elevators have not been working for months.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was able to stay at this hotel for one night. The staff is super friendly and eager to assist. The place was located exactly where I needed to be which was great. The only reason this hotel is not five stars is because of the following reasons: 1) hotel elevators were being worked on and we had long wait times; 2) i had to use the business center and the machines were dirty and some were not functioning. The monitors on two of the three were not working properly and the third one rebooted itself to take 48 updates - a long wait! Outside of that, the room was clean and easy to get around to see the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Suntimes-Review, Thank you for completing a review of our hotel and for your nice comments regardiing our friendly and eager staff. We do apologize for the elevator situation at the hotel and the inconvenience that you encountered waiting for the elevators. We were eager to upgrade the elevators as they are original to the building. Once the project began it became a much larger endeavor than originally thought. You will be happy to know that the elevator maintenance is finished for now and all three are working fine! With regard to the business center machines, we will be replacing the current computers to alleviate issues with speed. Our housekeeping staff does their best to check the keyboards and monitors of these machines in between uses to keep them clean for our guests. Apparantly we did not do such a great job during the dates of your stay and do apologize. We'll be sure to stay on top of this high traffic area moving forward! We do hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you travel to the area. Sincerely, Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here only one night, and it was very good. The underground parking was convenient, the room was modern, nicely decorated and clean. The walk in shower, with an adjustable shower head, was the best of our trip. there were plenty of small shelves here and there to place our junk. Small drawback was having the sink in the bathroom.( We find it's easier to have it outside the bath). The seating area was very nice, with a sofa,an extra table on wheels, and a computer desk setup. There was also a mini fridge and microwave. Nothing was overlooked .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you tom c for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and appreciated the touches of convenience in the bathroom such as the shelving, adjustable shower head and walk in shower. All of our guestrooms have the mini-fridge in the room however the microwaves are available only upon request so be sure to request one when making your next reservation with us! Sincerely, Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I typically stay at this Courtyard Marriott when visiting the area due to our corporate discount - so my choices are fairly limited. That said, I always look forward to staying here. Here are a few reasons why:

-Modern bathroom with excellent toiletries. I love the European style toilets and full walk-in showers. The bathrooms are a bit cramped, but they make up for it using modern styling/functionality.
-Free WiFi - thank you!
-Friendly staff & spotless room!

My only gripes:
-The bathroom mirror is not for anyone over 6' tall. I have to duck down to to see my face in the mirror - not at all comfortable. Why hotels don't get people of all sizes check out the bathroom "sizing" before finalizing on a design fathoms me!
-The free coffee isn't available all morning/night in the lobby - only in the morning. This is an issue with all Courtyards, not just this one.
-Bed was a bit hard, but I got used to it through the night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello vwethan, I'm so glad that you look forward to staying with us when you travel to this area on business - thank you! I agree with you that a few extra feet in our bathrooms would be great but we did our best to work with the space we had. We appreciate your support of how we styled the room to make it as functional as possible. Thanks for the compliments our friendly staff, free wifi and clean room as well. I'll be sure to share your comments with the team. Hope to have you back with us really soon! Sincerely, Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We reserved this hotel at the last minute for 7/4/13. Our stay was great...the only complaint I have is that the pool should stay open later, especially during the summer hours; everything else was great!
The location is perfect, a short walk to the metro station and close to shopping. The ride into DC is short, approximately 15 or so. The area is clean and safe. I have stayed in the heart of DC before and paid the higher price for it...since I have stayed here I will never pay those higher prices and instead stay here, right outside of the city.

Room Tip: Close to Metro station & shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Kims2529 - We appreciate you taking time to submit a review of our hotel! Thank you for choosing us for your last minute Fourth of July trip and for making us your hotel of choice when visiting the DC area. We too think our location just outside of Washington DC near metro is convenient for those who wish to experience DC without experiencing the higher prices! I have to say, your suggestion to keep the pool open later has come up before. We are researching different options as we get requests to both open the pool earlier and keep it open later. We will be reviewing these options and making some decisions for summer 2014. Until then, feel free to come stay with us should you decide to attend any winter holiday events in DC! Sincerely, Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I routinely make hotel reservations for my colleagues. This time my colleague's review from her stay on September 18, 2013 is as indicated in the title of this review. Great Internet connection-very very nice staff, speedy service. Thank you, again, Adina.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear CAPIONTAYHAS, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! It was nice of you to pass on your colleague's comment that we were a "most excellent" hotel - please thank her for us. Our staff makes it a point to provide personalized customer service and we are very happy that you found them to be nice and attentive; especially Adina. I will be sure to share your comments with them all. Please continue to send your colleagues our way and we'll be sure to continue to take care of them! Sincerely, Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy C...
#11 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.