We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritzy shops - Over Priced area - Below Average Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence 2014
atlanta
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ritzy shops - Over Priced area - Below Average Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pros:
1. Ritzy shops if you like to overpay for clothing, food and accessories
2. Convenient parking ($15 per nite)
3. Bellman is very helpful. We called him Mr. Deeds
4. Fast free wi-fi

Cons:
1. Booked room using points. I was told upon arrival, I could not use points to book a suite.
2. No hotel shuttle. So, disabled and elderly persons are forced to pay for taxi, if they can't make it 3 blocks to the Metro.
3. Shower has no water pressure! I'm sure they sell this as a water saving feature. But if it takes you 10 minutes to rinse off, I'm not sure you are actually conserving water.
4. Very small rooms
5. Very Expensive - Very basic-basic stay and one of the most expensive Courtyard Marriott hotels in the D.C. area

Room Tip: We paid $209 per nite, after my points ran out. For that price, you can stay at Courtyard Marriott h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    43
    6
    9
See reviews for
83
34
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wife and I went down to Chevy Chase to assist my daughter with a move. I have stayed at Courtyards before and this one did not disappoint. Although the room size was smaller than I was used to at the other Courtyards I've stayed in it was clean and well laid out and when our daughter surprised us by staying with us the first night the fold out sofa was very handy. Check in was a bit confusing as the layout of the lobby is not clear. We arrived after 8 PM and after picking up our daughter just went down stairs to Trattoria 5520 get something to eat. I'll have a separate review of that experience. Overall a good value close to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I managed to get a great deal online and for the price I paid I was more than happy with what I received. The location is great with the shops right outside the entrance and beds were really comfortable.
Rooms were nothing special however, they were comfortable, had air con and a shower.
Having a pool was a God send on the humid summer's day, but it's a shame the 'life guard' ruined what should have been a relaxing afternoon. All the other staff at this hotel were to lovely, but the life guard seemed determined to be as off and unprofessional as possible. I ended up leaving the pool area as a direct result of him.
I was only there for a few nights, and it was the first time I've travelled solo and I felt really safe here. The valet and bar men were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. If I ever have to go back to Bethesda, I will book here for the location over the other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The air was controlled by the hotel. They said they had a new system to save energy. It's really just to bring more bucks to them no matter what the customer has to endure. The AC is a motion sensor machine, which means it's too cold when you're awake and outside the covers, and then too hot when you're under the covers. The TV volume made dramatic and annoying changes on its own. The hotel has offered no compensation and they claim to have the right to charge upwards of $500.00 per night. Had I fallen on the extremely slick tub floor I would have filed suit. There are better and newer places in Alexandria, Arlington, DC, other more areas in and around DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asf1
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As some previous writers have stated, the wifi is "obnoxious" - it does not work....the air conditioner shuts off when it hits the temperature youve selected (minimum 65 degrees) .. then turns back on. When this happens all night long (On/off/on/off.. as you're trying to sleep... well, you get a poor night's rest. The pillows are small... and the water pressure is poor. Oh yeah, Ive read the comments it's a GREEN hotel. many people say the room is small... I'd call it standard.

Not all bad.. the staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was great. many great restaurants and shopping within a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's an old real estate rule, but location is really key when you are picking a hotel in/near DC.
Lived in the area for over 30 years, and the traffic is the worst it's ever been, it's make LA look like a breeze. This property was redone about 3 years ago, its walking distance to great restaurants, shops, and most importantly metro. This hotel works well for govt types m-f, so they can travel to various agencies in the city for meetings but still come back to a smaller urban oasis with pool and good eats nearby. Weekends, tourist and family event types take over and things quiet down. Rooms are very small, a family of four and four smallish travel bags filled the room, so be warned, but again your paying for location and access to NW Washington or suburban Maryland. Staff was generally really helpful and nice, but the same plate and tray in the hall after three days is not impressive. The pool hours are odd opens at 10:00 am closes at 8:00 pm because life guard has to be present due to local laws, not really something a weary road warrior travelers wishes to hear after a long day of meetings or hours on hellish highways.
Price was reasonable as were staying on Marriott E certs, parking reasonable for DC at 15.00 per night, so all in all, it's one of the few things in DC that still works and you do get pretty good value for your money.

Room Tip: Did I mention that rooms are small, if traveling with more then 2 or three folks probably need an ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Small rooms (really small sized closet and restroom), non-working obnoxious wifi, faulty and noisy A/C, etc,, etc., but hey, it's a Courtyard, so all of that could be "understood", but then the over the top new Yorkish adr does not fit the picture. Service is good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.