We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, location, clean - what more could you want?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value, location, clean - what more could you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came for a business conference, extended our stay for some family time. The location is close to a Metro station making getting around DC as well as to/from the airport convenient and reasonable. The hotel is locating in a lovely area with a nice assortment of restaurants, good shopping and activities. It is well maintained, clean and has some nice amenities like a pool, nice gym and pretty good hotel restaurant. I was surprised at how reasonable the weekend rates were with a prepay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    89
    39
    6
    9
See reviews for
76
31
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend. The metro is just a short walk. There are a lot of restaurants in walking distance. The restaurant in the hotel is great for breakfast, we did not try it for other meals. Our server was great, efficient and personable. All the employees were knowledgable and friendly. There is free wifi in the rooms and common area. Small business center in the lobby area, outdoor pool and workout area on the second floor. Refrigerator and safe in the room and coffee maker in the room, free coffee in the lobby until 10:00 am. Only one negative no beer or wine in the market.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: 10th floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Having recently relocated from this area I knew this to be a great and central location for my weekend stay but it does surprise me that in such a high-end shopping area (Saks 5th Ave is across the street, LV, Gucci, Jimmy Cho, Tiffany, etc all have store fronts nearby) that this hotel does not make a better Marriott showing. The recently remodeled lobby looks good, the rooms need work and most of the descriptions repeated in other reviews are accurate. I give the kudos for their LEED efforts but would love to see more attention to the details. They have some work to do but I think they are moving in the right direction. For a quick shopping trip weekend, I would stay again because I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in this area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I absolutely loved staying in this hotel. It was clean, nice and the rooms are very large and updated. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC/Baltimore areas. Parking is $15/night which is the only downfall, because usually you don't have to pay for parking at a Courtyard, but this one is worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This stay was 4 nights as part of a vacation over Memrorial Day weekend. I believe that this is a converted Holiday Inn, and thye did a really nice job. It was a great stay and with the great rate we snagged, an excellent value. Rooms were good sized and included all the important amenities inlcuidng a good sized compact refrigerator. Very clean and comfortable. Wireless coverage was good throughout the hotel. A very nice patio on the 2nd floor and a beautiful outdor pool and surrond on the 3rd floor. Free washer & dryer (just paid for detergent).

We did not rent a car and it wasn't an issue. Great location, only 3 blocks from Friendship Heights Metro, right on Wisconsin Ave. Great shopping and good dining options within a few blocks. Restaurant on site had good choices and was reasonably priced.

We vacation in the DC area every other year or so. We have been staying around the DuPont Circle area, but we have found a new favorite spot. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the back of the property, away from Wisconsin Ave. and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent renovation of the Marriott Courtyard Chevy Chase. This is a "GREEN" hotel that has received LEED certification. Close to downtown Washington, DC and downtown Bethesda, both are accessed via the nearby Friendship Heights Metro Red Line train.

Rooms and all public spaces are bright, cheery, comfortable with new furnishings and bedding, and include flat screen TV's and complimentary WiFi internet connection.

Being "GREEN", the hotel uses 100% renewable energy, maintaining high energy efficiency and water conservation standards.

Good choice while visiting metro Washington, DC. The only drawbacks include restricted water pressure due to the LEED energy conservation principles, and updated, yet balky, heating and air conditioning controls.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Wisconsin Avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our Gold, LEED status and like to hear from guests who appreciate our efforts to care for the environment. We realize these efforts may take some getting used to, but believe it is worth it when you weigh the reduced footprint on the environment. We hope you continue to stay GREEN with us when visiting metropolitan Washington, D.C.! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went there in April, and had booked 4 rooms for a group. Location was perfect, near shops, restaurants, and easy drive to all attractions. Hotel lobby very adequate. Nice rooms, clean, and comfortable bedding. And courteous staff. Overall fantastic stay, would stay again. And great value for DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi MarjanLongIsland_NY,

I was happy to read your review and see that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our location. I especially like to know that you found our staff to be courteous and the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you for booking your group into our hotel and for taking time to let us know how your stay went. Come back soon! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.