We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best feature is the price and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best feature is the price and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Having recently relocated from this area I knew this to be a great and central location for my weekend stay but it does surprise me that in such a high-end shopping area (Saks 5th Ave is across the street, LV, Gucci, Jimmy Cho, Tiffany, etc all have store fronts nearby) that this hotel does not make a better Marriott showing. The recently remodeled lobby looks good, the rooms need work and most of the descriptions repeated in other reviews are accurate. I give the kudos for their LEED efforts but would love to see more attention to the details. They have some work to do but I think they are moving in the right direction. For a quick shopping trip weekend, I would stay again because I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in this area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    118
    47
    6
    10
See reviews for
92
37
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I absolutely loved staying in this hotel. It was clean, nice and the rooms are very large and updated. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC/Baltimore areas. Parking is $15/night which is the only downfall, because usually you don't have to pay for parking at a Courtyard, but this one is worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This stay was 4 nights as part of a vacation over Memrorial Day weekend. I believe that this is a converted Holiday Inn, and thye did a really nice job. It was a great stay and with the great rate we snagged, an excellent value. Rooms were good sized and included all the important amenities inlcuidng a good sized compact refrigerator. Very clean and comfortable. Wireless coverage was good throughout the hotel. A very nice patio on the 2nd floor and a beautiful outdor pool and surrond on the 3rd floor. Free washer & dryer (just paid for detergent).

We did not rent a car and it wasn't an issue. Great location, only 3 blocks from Friendship Heights Metro, right on Wisconsin Ave. Great shopping and good dining options within a few blocks. Restaurant on site had good choices and was reasonably priced.

We vacation in the DC area every other year or so. We have been staying around the DuPont Circle area, but we have found a new favorite spot. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the back of the property, away from Wisconsin Ave. and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent renovation of the Marriott Courtyard Chevy Chase. This is a "GREEN" hotel that has received LEED certification. Close to downtown Washington, DC and downtown Bethesda, both are accessed via the nearby Friendship Heights Metro Red Line train.

Rooms and all public spaces are bright, cheery, comfortable with new furnishings and bedding, and include flat screen TV's and complimentary WiFi internet connection.

Being "GREEN", the hotel uses 100% renewable energy, maintaining high energy efficiency and water conservation standards.

Good choice while visiting metro Washington, DC. The only drawbacks include restricted water pressure due to the LEED energy conservation principles, and updated, yet balky, heating and air conditioning controls.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Wisconsin Avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our Gold, LEED status and like to hear from guests who appreciate our efforts to care for the environment. We realize these efforts may take some getting used to, but believe it is worth it when you weigh the reduced footprint on the environment. We hope you continue to stay GREEN with us when visiting metropolitan Washington, D.C.! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went there in April, and had booked 4 rooms for a group. Location was perfect, near shops, restaurants, and easy drive to all attractions. Hotel lobby very adequate. Nice rooms, clean, and comfortable bedding. And courteous staff. Overall fantastic stay, would stay again. And great value for DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi MarjanLongIsland_NY,

I was happy to read your review and see that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our location. I especially like to know that you found our staff to be courteous and the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you for booking your group into our hotel and for taking time to let us know how your stay went. Come back soon! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pretty large for a Courtyard Hotel- relatively easy-o- off a few miles from route 95 subway to downtown DC if you want it typical "quasi-surburban/city" with major upscale shopping and restaurants- nothing unique - stopped her to see family on way back fro Florida so convenient for us and them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello AlanONYC,

Thank you for your review. Many guests find our location midway between Interstate 95 and downtown Washington, D.C. very convenient, and I'm glad you did too. Of course, the upscale shopping and dining in the area sure doesn't hurt either! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are here for a family visit. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hi, checked into hotel after booking online for $220 a night (not including taxes, fees, etc) over $700 for 3 nights in a double room - not a suite). Way overpriced! Unbelievably it was sold out for the days that we were there (4/22 - 4/25). The room was very cramped. The bed space was about 14' by 12'. There were ~12 inches between the closet and the bed. The closet was less than 2 ft deep. (See photos... though perspective hard to show). The room was clean and quiet (on the 12th floor, away from the elevators). The lobby staff was cordial. The cleaning staff was friendly. The exercise room was nothing special, but adequate. We didn't eat in the restaurant. No free breakfast, but there was free in room internet. The towels were soft and absorbent; the water flow is not typical, but adequate. However, don't wash your hair; there is not enough force to rinse well. The sheets and spread were comfortable, but the bed was too firm. The hotel is only 3blocks from Metro, in an upscale neighborhood (Friendship Heights). However, this is not an upscale hotel. I've stayed in better rooms, with more amenities and better prices at many other hotels, including all suites. Not a bad hotel at all, but way overpriced for what you get. In this case, you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Kathy B,
Thank you for your detailed review and your comments on our friendly staff and clean guestrooms. I am sorry that you experienced your guestroom and closet to be lacking in size. We are a renovated hotel (not a new build) and did our best to configure our rooms for the most efficient use of the existing space. Also, I understand your comment about the shower water pressure being adequate. Our showerheads are by design, “low flow” and part of our LEED building specifications to conserve water and do our part to reduce our footprint on the environment. With regard to pricing, I admit that it is at its peak in April due to it being Cherry Blossom Season and the weekdays do sell out consistently with steady corporate business travel to the area. Please consider shopping our hotel rates for the summer months when our area is a great value compared to downtown D.C. If you do book with us again, please be sure to take that opportunity to enjoy our hotel’s non-standard, Courtyard amenities such as our full service restaurant and lounge, evening room service, bicycles for nearby trail riding, outdoor terrace and outdoor pool. We hope you do come back and try us out again! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy C...
#11 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.