We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really wonderful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I absolutely loved staying in this hotel. It was clean, nice and the rooms are very large and updated. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC/Baltimore areas. Parking is $15/night which is the only downfall, because usually you don't have to pay for parking at a Courtyard, but this one is worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    38
    6
    8
See reviews for
74
31
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This stay was 4 nights as part of a vacation over Memrorial Day weekend. I believe that this is a converted Holiday Inn, and thye did a really nice job. It was a great stay and with the great rate we snagged, an excellent value. Rooms were good sized and included all the important amenities inlcuidng a good sized compact refrigerator. Very clean and comfortable. Wireless coverage was good throughout the hotel. A very nice patio on the 2nd floor and a beautiful outdor pool and surrond on the 3rd floor. Free washer & dryer (just paid for detergent).

We did not rent a car and it wasn't an issue. Great location, only 3 blocks from Friendship Heights Metro, right on Wisconsin Ave. Great shopping and good dining options within a few blocks. Restaurant on site had good choices and was reasonably priced.

We vacation in the DC area every other year or so. We have been staying around the DuPont Circle area, but we have found a new favorite spot. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the back of the property, away from Wisconsin Ave. and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent renovation of the Marriott Courtyard Chevy Chase. This is a "GREEN" hotel that has received LEED certification. Close to downtown Washington, DC and downtown Bethesda, both are accessed via the nearby Friendship Heights Metro Red Line train.

Rooms and all public spaces are bright, cheery, comfortable with new furnishings and bedding, and include flat screen TV's and complimentary WiFi internet connection.

Being "GREEN", the hotel uses 100% renewable energy, maintaining high energy efficiency and water conservation standards.

Good choice while visiting metro Washington, DC. The only drawbacks include restricted water pressure due to the LEED energy conservation principles, and updated, yet balky, heating and air conditioning controls.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Wisconsin Avenue are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Steve L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of our Gold, LEED status and like to hear from guests who appreciate our efforts to care for the environment. We realize these efforts may take some getting used to, but believe it is worth it when you weigh the reduced footprint on the environment. We hope you continue to stay GREEN with us when visiting metropolitan Washington, D.C.! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went there in April, and had booked 4 rooms for a group. Location was perfect, near shops, restaurants, and easy drive to all attractions. Hotel lobby very adequate. Nice rooms, clean, and comfortable bedding. And courteous staff. Overall fantastic stay, would stay again. And great value for DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi MarjanLongIsland_NY,

I was happy to read your review and see that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our location. I especially like to know that you found our staff to be courteous and the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you for booking your group into our hotel and for taking time to let us know how your stay went. Come back soon! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pretty large for a Courtyard Hotel- relatively easy-o- off a few miles from route 95 subway to downtown DC if you want it typical "quasi-surburban/city" with major upscale shopping and restaurants- nothing unique - stopped her to see family on way back fro Florida so convenient for us and them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello AlanONYC,

Thank you for your review. Many guests find our location midway between Interstate 95 and downtown Washington, D.C. very convenient, and I'm glad you did too. Of course, the upscale shopping and dining in the area sure doesn't hurt either! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are here for a family visit. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hi, checked into hotel after booking online for $220 a night (not including taxes, fees, etc) over $700 for 3 nights in a double room - not a suite). Way overpriced! Unbelievably it was sold out for the days that we were there (4/22 - 4/25). The room was very cramped. The bed space was about 14' by 12'. There were ~12 inches between the closet and the bed. The closet was less than 2 ft deep. (See photos... though perspective hard to show). The room was clean and quiet (on the 12th floor, away from the elevators). The lobby staff was cordial. The cleaning staff was friendly. The exercise room was nothing special, but adequate. We didn't eat in the restaurant. No free breakfast, but there was free in room internet. The towels were soft and absorbent; the water flow is not typical, but adequate. However, don't wash your hair; there is not enough force to rinse well. The sheets and spread were comfortable, but the bed was too firm. The hotel is only 3blocks from Metro, in an upscale neighborhood (Friendship Heights). However, this is not an upscale hotel. I've stayed in better rooms, with more amenities and better prices at many other hotels, including all suites. Not a bad hotel at all, but way overpriced for what you get. In this case, you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Kathy B,
Thank you for your detailed review and your comments on our friendly staff and clean guestrooms. I am sorry that you experienced your guestroom and closet to be lacking in size. We are a renovated hotel (not a new build) and did our best to configure our rooms for the most efficient use of the existing space. Also, I understand your comment about the shower water pressure being adequate. Our showerheads are by design, “low flow” and part of our LEED building specifications to conserve water and do our part to reduce our footprint on the environment. With regard to pricing, I admit that it is at its peak in April due to it being Cherry Blossom Season and the weekdays do sell out consistently with steady corporate business travel to the area. Please consider shopping our hotel rates for the summer months when our area is a great value compared to downtown D.C. If you do book with us again, please be sure to take that opportunity to enjoy our hotel’s non-standard, Courtyard amenities such as our full service restaurant and lounge, evening room service, bicycles for nearby trail riding, outdoor terrace and outdoor pool. We hope you do come back and try us out again! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

How this could be the #1 ranked hotel in Chevy Chase is a mystery to me. Let me list the disappointments:
1. The garage is a forbidding labyrinth underneath the hotel with a maze of pillars and extraordinarily tight spaces. There should be an award for emerging without body damage.
2. The standard single king bed room is claustrophobic, and the bathroom has no tub.
3. The eco-friendly faucet in the bathroom has a feeble flow rate.
4. The heating/airconditioning unit sounds like a jet engine.
5. The idiotically installed room safe does not permit the closet doors to open or close properly, rendering half of the closet inaccessible.
6. Our room was not made up after the first night.
This hotel was designed by spreadsheet jockeys with no practical understanding of what contributes to human comfort. It is an embarrassment to the Marriott brand.

Room Tip: Do not choose the single king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear HHovaness,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you found our hotel to be an embarrassment to the Marriott brand; we have received many accolades for our LEED building design (of the hotel, we do not own or operate the garage) and I am troubled that you found the hotel to be such a disappointment. IWe do have over 70 guestrooms with bathtubs and even more King bedded rooms that are large with sofa beds in them. I apologize if these options were requested by you at check-in and were not available for the dates of your stay. In addition, I am concerned to hear you did not receive housekeeping service one night during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at (301) 656-1500 x7010 if you would like to give me more details on your stay so that I may follow up personally on your concerns. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.