We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
Pelham, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

How this could be the #1 ranked hotel in Chevy Chase is a mystery to me. Let me list the disappointments:
1. The garage is a forbidding labyrinth underneath the hotel with a maze of pillars and extraordinarily tight spaces. There should be an award for emerging without body damage.
2. The standard single king bed room is claustrophobic, and the bathroom has no tub.
3. The eco-friendly faucet in the bathroom has a feeble flow rate.
4. The heating/airconditioning unit sounds like a jet engine.
5. The idiotically installed room safe does not permit the closet doors to open or close properly, rendering half of the closet inaccessible.
6. Our room was not made up after the first night.
This hotel was designed by spreadsheet jockeys with no practical understanding of what contributes to human comfort. It is an embarrassment to the Marriott brand.

Room Tip: Do not choose the single king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear HHovaness,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you found our hotel to be an embarrassment to the Marriott brand; we have received many accolades for our LEED building design (of the hotel, we do not own or operate the garage) and I am troubled that you found the hotel to be such a disappointment. IWe do have over 70 guestrooms with bathtubs and even more King bedded rooms that are large with sofa beds in them. I apologize if these options were requested by you at check-in and were not available for the dates of your stay. In addition, I am concerned to hear you did not receive housekeeping service one night during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at (301) 656-1500 x7010 if you would like to give me more details on your stay so that I may follow up personally on your concerns. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    87
    35
    5
    7
See reviews for
69
30
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My rating reflects the generosity and friendliness of the staff. They went out of their way to help: early check-in, easy bag storage, pleasant breakfast experience.

The room was clean and comfortable and the rate was reasonable. I was taking advantage of the Marriott Rewards offer of a free night for every two stays, so the cost will end up being a lot lower once I cash in my free-night certificate.

The Metro Red Line is three blocks down the street. Had dinner at nearby PF Chang's and dessert at Whole Foods Market. Two blocks to CVS. Other shopping and services very close. In other words, the location is great, unless you want to be closer to the heart of DC.

This was my second time at this hotel. I'd go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Interested01,

I appreciate you taking time to review our hotel - thank you! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our staff, guestrooms and location to metro, shops and dining. Best of all, its great to hear you will be back! We value your busines and look forward to having you as a loyal customer. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in Chevy Chase for two days this month in connection with an academic event. I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is, as others have noted, in a very upscale shopping district near (about three blocks away from) the Friendship Heights Metro station. Apart from dome popcorn fragments under the sofa in my room (which I found when I dropped something that rolled under the edge of the sofa), my room was clean and well-stocked with amenities (although it's impossible to get lotion, shampoo, and conditioner--all of which are great products--out of the containers in any quantities). I asked the staff for assistance on a number of things during the days I was there, and I got what I asked for in full immediately. I will look into staying here on future trips . . . .

Room Tip: Not any real views here. My room looked out the front of the hotel, and I could see Sachs Fifth Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Heminway,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay in April. I am pleased to hear our staff was very responsive to your needs and that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Also, thanks for letting us know about the popcorn under the sofa. I will be sure to tell our housekeeping supervisors so they can spot check that area in the rooms with couches. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during cherry blossom time and were treated well. Maid service was excellent. Location is convenient to DC attractions, without the high rates downtown. Hope we stay in Chevy Chase again.

Room Tip: Parking costs $15 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear klep,

I am very happy that you felt you were treated well when you stayed with us during Cherry Blossom season. It is such a busy time for the area and we are glad you found our hotel to be convenient to Washington, D.C. attractions, and a value for the price paid. I especially appreciate your nice comment about our excellent housekeeping service and will be sure to pass it on to the Housekeeping Department! We look forward to your return to our hotel again in the future. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros:
1. 5 minutes walking from Friendship Heights metro station
2. 2-5 minutes walking from lots of great shopping
3. Amazingly fast room service (and really delicious chicken quesadillas)
4. Modern lobby
5. Surprisingly well stocked "market" in the lobby open 24 hours
6. Lots of space to

Cons:
1. Glass and napkin left over from dinner room service did not get cleared by housekeeping the following day
2. Very small fitness room (and the tv on the one elliptical was broken with no sign indicating as such)
3. LEED Gold certified but do not really make a big deal of being eco-friendly (any more so than any other hotel)
4. Expensive for what/where it is - I stayed at a comparable hotel chain in downtown DC the preceding weekend for $100 less!
5. In-room internet was spotty (especially wifi) and at least one lobby PC was always malfunctioning (lack of maintenance, need to check on them more often)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello LaPortuguesa,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I appreciate your detail of the facilities and services you experienced during your stay and am happy that you feel we are a good option in Chevy Chase. It seems however, that you did experience some issues with housekeeping and the maintenance of our fitness and business center equipment, and I will absolutely pass these details on to each of those departments to research and rectify (if they haven't already done so). Thank you again for staying with us and bringing this to our attention. We know you have choices in the area and look forward to having you stay with us again. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Rooms were nice, beds were hard. Paying for parking was difficult to swallow and breakfast was not cheap, but you are in DC. (Or at least a couple of blocks away) Were in town for DC Tap Fest. This was the closest hotel (about 8 blocks away).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for comments! I’m glad you enjoyed our location and the level of service we provided. I wish we managed the parking garage and could control the parking fees but unfortunately we do not – I have to pay for parking there too so I feel your pain! However, I do know that the parking fee is the lowest of the hotels in the area, and hope it won’t be a deal breaker for you. We do have control over the breakfast pricing and selection. We try to offer a wide range of options between our restaurant menu and our lobby market. The lobby market offers a variety of items made fresh daily such as fruit cups, yogurt parfaits, granola and milk, etc. These options are priced economically to give you additional options. I hope you check out what we offer in the market during your next visit. Thanks again for your review! Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I primarily selected this location due to its proximity to family, and while it is not much to look at from the outside the interior was wonderfully modern and comfortable. Our king room was spacious and well appointed and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Hotel parking was convenient and reasonable and there was plenty to do within easy walking distance (shopping, dining, jogging). Would definitely stay again! The only slight ding is that we like to take stairs and getting from the lobby to the 2nd floor via stairs is not easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy you chose to stay with us during your visit to the area and then took the time to let us know your thoughts. We find that many guests choose our hotel because of its great location and are pleasantly surprised with our trendy decor and great amenities! I am sorry you found accessing the 2nd floor from the lobby, by stairwell, confusing. It has to do with local codes regarding stairwell exits and the fact that on the North side of the hotel the lobby is the lowest level and on the South side of the hotel the 2nd floor is the lowest level. Confusing - I know but you can access the second floor by elevator and then take the stairs up from there. Thanks again for your comments. Come back for a visit soon! Amy Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.