We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay for DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three of us were traveling together to go see the sites in DC. The metro station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Completely walk-able. About an hour via metro from Ronald Reagan Airport. 20 minutes via metro to the National Mall. The atmosphere is very modern, very clean. Rooms were a little small, but nothing that prevented movement or felt claustrophobic. The shower-head has an extremely weak pressure/flow. The mattress was a little hard for my taste, but the pillows were very comfortable. The staff were always very pleasant and helpful. There is a market that replaces any vending machines in the lobby area, but the prices are incredibly reasonable. A 20 oz bottle of soda was $1.50, which was cheaper than the close by CVS. The restaurant was reasonably priced as well, nothing over $20 and there were only a few items that were on the high end. It was all very tasty. The only reason I give it a 4 instead of a 5 is that it was a little pricey. We stayed there for 4 nights and got a discounted price on the last night, but it was still tight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    89
    39
    6
    9
See reviews for
76
31
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice enough staff, asked for a room far away from the elevators & the request wasn't granted. No tubs, but the housekeeping staff does a thorough job & the staff is pleasant. The neighborhood is safe; there is shopping, restaurants & a metro stop all close. Recommend despite the other issues.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Run4panic,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay. It is always nice to hear that our staff did their jobs thoroughly and were pleasant to interact with. We agree that our location within walking distance to metro, shopping and restaurants is a plus and we want to keep you coming back to enjoy the area.

I am sorry that you were not informed that we do have a bathub/shower combination in our rooms with double queen beds. If you don't mind having that bed type, you may note your desire for a bathtub in your reservation under comments and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and have found it very comfortable and conveniently located. The rooms are clean with all the amenities you expect, the decor is pleasant and the staff is terrific. They really try to accommodate your every need.

As one reviewer commented, the room rates are steep but sometimes you can get a discounted rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice hotel in shopping area close to stores and restaurants. Front desk staff very good. Ridiculously high priced breakfast (most similar hotels include a free breakfast). Gigantic empty parking garage charged $15 which seems crazy since this is not in a city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here to bring son back to college and location is excellent. Staff Sunday night not at all suited to front desk hospitality but too late and too tired to change. Comfortable bed and served our purpose. Try to find a priceline or other rate as a bit expensive for what it is. Clean and convenient. Walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I found this gem when I could not get a hotel in the Bethesda/Rockville area. It is located 2 blocks from the Metro Red line. Typical Courtyard, fairly modern amenities. Whole Foods is 2 blocks away if you want to get some groceries. Parking was very convenient and a bargain at $15/day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here while visiting family who live just down the street in Washington DC/Cleveland Park. I wish I could remember the names of the gentlemen who checked us in but they were wonderful! We were in town for a baptism & every time they saw us, they asked us how our weekend was & about our family plans.

We did not stay here with the intent of hanging out in our room all weekend. It was just a place to sleep. That being said, this is an older hotel that has been remodeled fairly recently and is just really nice! Everything was clean, updated (including a nice work station in the room) & quiet. The restaurant area was very nice and clean with friendly staff. The one morning I needed to grab something to eat, it was great to be able to get Starbucks & a yogurt on the go (just typical hotel prices - but you pay for convenience). There were computers in the lobby for general use and two work stations dedicated to just printing your boarding passes - which is exactly what I needed. Thank you!!

I could look out my window & see the Friendship Heights Metro stop which is right on Wisconsin. Although I didn't take advantage of it, my sister said that we were staying on the "Rodeo Drive of Montgomery County" with Cartier, Saks & Tiffany's, to name a few, just across the street. Most importantly to me, though, it was 5 minutes to my sister's house. This place is literally across the street from DC, which was just perfect for us.

We booked the room on Expedia & got a great deal but I haven't looked to see what their rates are normally. I will definitely be staying here again when I go back to DC to visit family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.