We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this Marriott hotel. The room is very clean and the quality of the room is excellent and the staff are friendly. They provide complimentary coffee in your room and the lobby. The hotel is about 3-4 blocks from the metro subway stop, which is about 20 mins ride into Washington.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    118
    47
    6
    10
See reviews for
92
37
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This recently refurbished property was a real find. Minutes away from the excellent Metro I returned the car on day one as it was really quite redundant. Not just the subway but great bus service at the door to nearby Bethesda and its choice restaurant scene and shopping. Location wise for me it could not have been better with family at Potomac and Bethesda and DC sights, museums and theatre all within easy reach by Metro. Given the top designer shops (Tiffany, Gucci, Dior etc) across the road there was a sense of great security at all times even walking from the Metro late at night. The hotel had all the amenities and an incredibly comfortable, totally redone bathroom and bed/lounge area decor. I chose not to eat at the restaurant as there was a market in the foyer for breakfast needs and late night snacks and either of the two pleasant outdoor areas to relax and eat purchases. The outdoor pool is a real bonus and the free internet and printing in the lobby area a welcome amenity. The staff were very friendly and helpful and when on arrival they advised there was a burst water pipe up the road they apologetically offered free water bottles and ready assistance with other needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and its exceptionally good value - I paid $109 a night for my four nights which makes the cost of over the top DC hotels laughable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Quirky decor and efforts to be green made this an interesting hotel. You can't beat the neighborhood. High end shopping, good restaurants, metro, Fresh Market within blocks. The pool closes too early, we had hoped to take a swim after a hard day shopping. Garage parking was easy and cooler than the 100 degree day, $15 a da.

We hated the restaurant. Terrible service for a marginal breakfast. We should have just grabbed coffee and a muffin.

Our daughter just moved to the area, I think we will try one of the other hotels nearby next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The location is good. It is in the middle of shopping of every sort, is a 5 minute walk to Whole Foods and about 7 minutes to the Red Line Metro that takes you into the center of DC.
I have two complaints...
The biggest is that there was a large closet with plenty of room to hang clothes used on a long trip like mine but the closet rod had been removed!! Instead there were two 8 inch pegs sticking out of the wall. There was no possibility of having wrinkles hang out since everything was squashed onto them. What is supposed to be good about this arrangement is a mystery to me. If I'd been with my husband in the winter I can't imagine where we would have put our coats.
My other complaint is common to many Marriott hotels. I seriously dislike their shower heads. I'm all for water saving, but their shower heads give so little water it took me 45 minutes to wash my hair! That did not save any water, it just stole my time.
A plus for this hotel is that they happily removed all feathers from the room so I had many fewer allergies.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A few block walk from the Friendship Heights METRO station. Noisy
Wisconsin Avenue rooms (even numbers) and noisy back alley rooms (odd numbers). Poor sound insulation on exterior and interior. Good A/C.Tiny clothes closett. Rooms with iron and board and mini-fridge. No safe. Bath with shower, no tub, white tile around. Thin, short towels. Flatscreen TV with basic cable, no SCI-SFY channel, pay movies available.
Small desk with wired Internet connection (slow speed). Small sofa and table. Beige wallpaper.
Average bed softness. Some soft pillows. Substandard bath towel size and softness.

Ground floor bar without draught beers serves breakfast - untried. Noisy door slaming with air gaps under doors. snacks for sale at lobby. Business Center computers also in lobby. Friendly and helpful staff.
Easy walk to Red Line Metro. Many nearby over-priced retail outlets. Whole Food not allowed to sell beer due to primitive government regulations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Chevy Chase while we were on our family vacation. The hotel was immaculate, had a nice restaurant and business center onsite, and boasted a classy, as well as contemporary decor. The staff was cordial and very helpful. Additionally, the locale was excellent with several shops, a mall and many restaurants, to include The Cheesecake Factory, P.F. Chang's, and Maggiano's within walking distance. The hotel even offers free bike rental if you would like to get some exercise that way.

Also, the Smithsonian, White House, and other well-known D.C. attractions are only about a 20 minute drive from the hotel. However, if you do not feel like driving, leave your car in the hotel's onsite parking garage and walk to the Metro Friendship Heights station, which is located across the street.

I travel frequently and this hotel is definitely a favorite. When I come to the D.C. area again I will be staying at the Chevy Chase Courtyard by Marriot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is an incredible price for the DC area. The hotel is located just 2 or 3 blocks from the Friendship Heights metro - which is on the red line and just 20 or so minutes from all of DC's tourism spots. Staff is nice, rooms were comfortable and clean, and a decent restaurant/cafe is on location. Great shopping is also in the neighborhood. This location is safe and clean - an excellent location in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy C...
#11 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.