We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The location is good. It is in the middle of shopping of every sort, is a 5 minute walk to Whole Foods and about 7 minutes to the Red Line Metro that takes you into the center of DC.
I have two complaints...
The biggest is that there was a large closet with plenty of room to hang clothes used on a long trip like mine but the closet rod had been removed!! Instead there were two 8 inch pegs sticking out of the wall. There was no possibility of having wrinkles hang out since everything was squashed onto them. What is supposed to be good about this arrangement is a mystery to me. If I'd been with my husband in the winter I can't imagine where we would have put our coats.
My other complaint is common to many Marriott hotels. I seriously dislike their shower heads. I'm all for water saving, but their shower heads give so little water it took me 45 minutes to wash my hair! That did not save any water, it just stole my time.
A plus for this hotel is that they happily removed all feathers from the room so I had many fewer allergies.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    110
    44
    6
    10
See reviews for
86
36
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A few block walk from the Friendship Heights METRO station. Noisy
Wisconsin Avenue rooms (even numbers) and noisy back alley rooms (odd numbers). Poor sound insulation on exterior and interior. Good A/C.Tiny clothes closett. Rooms with iron and board and mini-fridge. No safe. Bath with shower, no tub, white tile around. Thin, short towels. Flatscreen TV with basic cable, no SCI-SFY channel, pay movies available.
Small desk with wired Internet connection (slow speed). Small sofa and table. Beige wallpaper.
Average bed softness. Some soft pillows. Substandard bath towel size and softness.

Ground floor bar without draught beers serves breakfast - untried. Noisy door slaming with air gaps under doors. snacks for sale at lobby. Business Center computers also in lobby. Friendly and helpful staff.
Easy walk to Red Line Metro. Many nearby over-priced retail outlets. Whole Food not allowed to sell beer due to primitive government regulations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Chevy Chase while we were on our family vacation. The hotel was immaculate, had a nice restaurant and business center onsite, and boasted a classy, as well as contemporary decor. The staff was cordial and very helpful. Additionally, the locale was excellent with several shops, a mall and many restaurants, to include The Cheesecake Factory, P.F. Chang's, and Maggiano's within walking distance. The hotel even offers free bike rental if you would like to get some exercise that way.

Also, the Smithsonian, White House, and other well-known D.C. attractions are only about a 20 minute drive from the hotel. However, if you do not feel like driving, leave your car in the hotel's onsite parking garage and walk to the Metro Friendship Heights station, which is located across the street.

I travel frequently and this hotel is definitely a favorite. When I come to the D.C. area again I will be staying at the Chevy Chase Courtyard by Marriot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is an incredible price for the DC area. The hotel is located just 2 or 3 blocks from the Friendship Heights metro - which is on the red line and just 20 or so minutes from all of DC's tourism spots. Staff is nice, rooms were comfortable and clean, and a decent restaurant/cafe is on location. Great shopping is also in the neighborhood. This location is safe and clean - an excellent location in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed 6 nights here in mid-May. It was expensive, but then this is D.C. There were many promising features of this property, physically renovated and under new management since we last stayed here in 2007. It advertises being "green" and was, in some respects (e.g. European style full- and half-flush toilets). Rooms were equipped with modern facilities, free internet, quiet temperature control. The service for breakfast in the bistro was quick, attentive, and friendly; the menu is limited and there is no breakfast buffet. It is a 4-block walk past ritzy stores to the Friendship Heights Metro station (red line). Managers were willing to listen to our problems and provide adequate, if not generous, recompense.

But one would have hoped that there had been no problems to make amends for. On check-in, about midnight, we discovered that our room lacked a tub (desired by my wife you had recently had back surgery). The night manager said that someone would immediately bring us a key to a room with a tub. Twenty minutes later, after waiting in the hallway, we phoned the front desk. Soon the night manager appeared, apologizing profusely for failure of his walkie-talkies: he had assumed we had been taken care of long ago. He took us to another room, gave us the key, and disappeared. But this room also lacked a tub! I went down to the front desk and the manager assured us that the computer said the room had a tub. He came up, saw that it didn't, and moved us to a third room, which actually did have a small tub. We were given adequate recompense: coupons for breakfast the next day and half off our room that night.

But that wasn't all. We found that the outdoor pool was closed though temperatures were in the 70s. We were told it was empty. It was actually full, but the doors were locked. We were told that we could use the Embassy Suites pool for $10; but Embassy Suites said they had no agreement with Courtyard Marriott and charged $20. Later, Courtyard reimbursed us the $20.

A phone set was dysfunctional, but repaired quickly. We couldn't turn off a message light and were twice told to push "2". Finally a maintenance person appeared and pushed "3" to turn it off. We had to replace room keys 3 times.

As an elite member of Marriott, we were given a card for a free small bottle of water "valid on dates indicated below...5/8 to 5/14." It didn't say valid on "one date" during that period, but that was their interpretation. Even worse was the coupon (given to members of our group at the hotel) for a free drink in the bar, up to $8. My wife ordered a whisky and ginger ale and I asked for a rusty nail (in fact, they lacked proper ingredients but substituted Cointreau and house scotch), and we handed in the card. The bill (before tip) came to $20.67! I assumed the bartender had forgotten to take off the $8, but no. Assuming a normal tip, they were actually expecting these to be $33 worth of drinks, subtracting $8 to yield $25. Such drinks would cost less at the Top of the Mark. Beware of free drink cards at this hotel (and note that the bar closes about 10 pm.)

I could go on, but will leave it at that. After talking with the acting manager during check-out, we received additional recompense on our bill. This Courtyard could be a fine place to stay, but make no assumptions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I know it's a little farther out than most people think when looking for places to stay in DC, but it's a 5-10 minute walk from the red line metro and it takes no time to get into the heart of the city. I come about once a month and always stay here. The place is a Gold Leed certified building which means it's super efficient and environmentally friendly (they even let you take out bikes for free). The rooms are bigger than other Courtyards in the area, and everything is modern and "fresh" .It even smells good :) There is free wifi, great flat screen tvs, and a bistro. There breakfasts are good, with more healthy options than a few of the other local chains. I really like what they've done to make this Courtyard modern and new. Kudos - I will stay here whenever I can.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Wisconsin are louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings-on-Hudson, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Located right at the end of a wonderful shopping area on Wisconsin Avenue, the hotel is well located for both shopping, dining, and is very close in to Washington DC without being in the city itself. Our room was perfectly adequate to our needs, a full breakfast was included and was very good, and the personnel were helpful and friendly. One problem stood out in my mind. I always check the fire evacuation cards on the back of the room door to see where to go in the event of an emergency. Our room was mislabeled on the card in our room. Had there been a fire and had we followed the directions on the card, we would have been moving away from the nearest fire stairs and into a disaster. A warning to all travelers to check for yourselves where the nearest exit is and be sure your fire cards accurately show where your room is. Also, there is a $15 per night charge for parking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.