We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lia's Restaurant

Lia's Restaurant
4435 WILLARD AVENUE, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
240-223-LIAS
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lia's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wisconsin Avenue
Transit: Friendship Heights metro (red line) located 1 block away on cross streets Western Avenue and Wisconsin Avenue. Walk one block north on Wisconsin Avenue to Willard and we are at 4435 Willard Avenue in the Ritz-Carlton building. Look for our outdoor patio and red awnings.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As long as Cesare Lafranconi is in the kitchen, it's worth braving the decibels and close tables to eat at Lia's. His pastas--wild mushroom ravioli and shrimp and sausage Paccheri--were exactly as they should have been. The pizzas at the next table looked delicious, and we didn't hear any complaints. Antipasti and fried calimari were fine; cured salmon was very good; some salad greens were a bit tired. The atmosphere is friendly and the servers willing. All in all, a chef with Cesare's talent deserves a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Noisy, Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good cuisine, too. Quite new, too, Lia's has become an anchor of the Friendship Heights neighborhood. Alas, it's chef is moving on.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eh, salty food, salty service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

There are several other restaurants in the area and despite all the good reviews i found this place lacking in food quality and service. My pasta was extremely salty, the house wine was tart and tasted like it had turned a bit due to heat. Don't waste your time or money...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wife Birthday for Dinner, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I am a very regular customer of Chef Geoff's restaurant in Tyson's Corner where I have eaten approximately 100 times. The service, food and ambiance at Chef Geoff's in Tyson's Corner is excellent (I guess I should write a review for that restaurant as well).
I took my extended family to Lia's for my wife's birthday dinner on a Sunday evening. First of all, we asked if our party of 10 could eat outside. Answer: "No. We don't put tables together outside." That was from the hostess. There were plenty of tables available outside at the time. So we sit down inside at a long cramped table. Our waitress arrived and had zero personality nor any interest in being there on a Sunday night. There was no bus boy in our section until we asked. This was after a drink spilled and was not cleaned up and our table had all kinds of debris laying around for 40 minutes. To be fair, the atmosphere was nice and the food was above good but not up to the standards of the other Chef Geoff's restaurant. Unfortunately, poor service was the prominent part of the experience. I am confident that Geoff will get this place under control.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, bad management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had dinner at this restaurant in early July. I burned my arm badly on the glass and metal
candle holder on the table. I contacted the manager and told him about it. I said that the metal
conducted heat and that they needed to replace these candles since other people were bound
to get burned as well. It was about 7 weeks since this incident. I never heard back from him.
Last night, I went there again for dinner and the candles were still there on the tables!. I told the now
NEW manager of the incident and she had not heard about it earlier. Our waitress mentioned that she also had gotten burned by the candles. I have a scar on my arm!!! How can a restaurant be so deaf? I could have
sued them but didn't. Someone eventually will!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lia's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.