We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meiwah Restaurant

Meiwah Restaurant
4457 Willard Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-3605
301-652-9882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is well-prepared and reasonably priced. Service sometimes can be confused with several different servers asking you about ordering.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avalon, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meiwah: Chinese for Best Meal Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I didn't expect much, given the less than upper-class location, but appearances can be deceiving. From the moment I stepped inside the classy well-decorated room I knew this would be a good meal. I was right. Steaming dumplings and savory soup were served within ten minutes, and waiting for me afterwards was their delicious orange chicken. I have visited many times since then, with many different companions. Never once have I been disappointed. This is truly one of the best Chinese restaurants I have ever visited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lots of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go to Meiwah about once a week, mostly for take-out, but sometimes we dine in. I am very impressed with the consistent high quality of the food. When I dine in, the timing of the food delivery is usually too rushed. Excellent hot and sour soup. I especially enjoy the crispy shredded beef and the eggplant in garlic sauce.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It may not be 100% authentic, but good food is good food. The shredded pork w/ hot peppers is great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
638 reviews 638 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 228 cities Reviews in 228 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Chinese in Upscale Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Meiwah has an upstairs location near the upscale Friendship Heights shopping area, an area filled with stores like Gucci, Saks, and Neiman Marcus. Validation is provided for parking in the underground garage. Atmosphere is informal white tablecloth. Disappointingly the table was set only with forks and knives, but chopsticks were brought upon request. There's a good selection of wines, but the beer selection is limited to to standard American and Chinese with the exception of Sierra Nevada. The bar pours a very good martini. The restaurant serves both Chinese food and sushi, with some low calorie selections available. We enjoyed our appetizers, a really good calamari salad, steamed dumplings, and a very generous serving of minced chicken to be wrapped in lettuce leaves. Mongolian lamb, fried shrimp with broccoli, eggplant, and Peking duck were very successful. A dish of pork with dried bean curd was less so. Definitely a very good Chinese banquet. The food and drinks were reasonably priced. We spent only $35 per person including drinks and tips. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiwah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meiwah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meiwah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.