We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Chinese Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meiwah Restaurant

Meiwah Restaurant
4457 Willard Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-3605
301-652-9882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Washington DC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have done take out and dine in and it is always very good. It is, however, NOT Hong Kong good. Had one problem on a delivery once - no plum sauce for the duck but when we called they sent it but took a while. Efficent and good food and there is parking in the basement and street if you can find it. Do NOT park illegaly - the Friendship Heights private rent a cops write $50 tickets like no tomorrow. You have to ask for chop sticks and all the plastic wrapped sauces for take out as they hang on to them like it's their children!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awesome sushi, nice atmosphere. Service was a bit perfunctory, but that may have just been my perception.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Consistent performer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Friendship Heights gained a star when this opened and consistently performs well in terms of variety, freshness, and presentation. Fish dishes are standouts and the routine Chinese appetizers and "typical" dishes are well prepared and satisfying.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
732 reviews 732 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is on the second floor of a building and you should keep looking up to make sure you don't miss the extereior sign if you let your eyes get stuck at ground level. For an expensive part of the DC area, the food is quite good at a very good price. The service was quick and the staff friendly. This is an above-average Chinese restaurant with a decent selection (and you can get brown rice if you wish, in my experience something that is becoming more rare at Chinese restaurants). I will return when next in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Second Floor Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Holiday shopping can be very tiring. I stop long enough to regroup and relax here at Meiwah in Chevy Chase and enjoy a lunch which I know will be good. A stones throw from CC department stores, this second-floor restaurant on the corner of The Hills Plaza road and Willard Ave, gives one the impression of being miles away from street bustle. There's a bonus--if you park in the garage across from Meiwah on The Hills Plaza road and take the RETAIL elevator up from P2 parking, it opens directly into Meiwah--fancy! The decor is great--subdued and modern--with huge windows overlooking the streets, making you feel like a Peeping Tom to the world below. As you pick up your cloth napkins (a nice touch at lunch), you notice the menu also includes sushi and, although I don't eat it, I hear it's very good. Moo Shu pork is tasty with plum sauce and wraps. One should not miss the eggplant--delicious. I've had most of the dishes here. They are consistent and although Americanized, always good. I'm not in town summers to enjoy the outdoor seating, but I hear it's great high in the sky. ( I have used their take-out service and had it delivered--so easy!) Co-owner Larry La certainly does a great job. I have followed him from City Lights, then downtown DC Meiwah, and now here. He's a pro in making a diner feel welcome and satisfied as well as providing a reasonable price point. Don't forget to have your parking ticket stamped in MeiWah before leaving.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiwah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meiwah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meiwah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.