We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meiwah Restaurant

Meiwah Restaurant
4457 Willard Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-3605
301-652-9882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awesome sushi, nice atmosphere. Service was a bit perfunctory, but that may have just been my perception.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    7
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistent performer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Friendship Heights gained a star when this opened and consistently performs well in terms of variety, freshness, and presentation. Fish dishes are standouts and the routine Chinese appetizers and "typical" dishes are well prepared and satisfying.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is on the second floor of a building and you should keep looking up to make sure you don't miss the extereior sign if you let your eyes get stuck at ground level. For an expensive part of the DC area, the food is quite good at a very good price. The service was quick and the staff friendly. This is an above-average Chinese restaurant with a decent selection (and you can get brown rice if you wish, in my experience something that is becoming more rare at Chinese restaurants). I will return when next in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Second Floor Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Holiday shopping can be very tiring. I stop long enough to regroup and relax here at Meiwah in Chevy Chase and enjoy a lunch which I know will be good. A stones throw from CC department stores, this second-floor restaurant on the corner of The Hills Plaza road and Willard Ave, gives one the impression of being miles away from street bustle. There's a bonus--if you park in the garage across from Meiwah on The Hills Plaza road and take the RETAIL elevator up from P2 parking, it opens directly into Meiwah--fancy! The decor is great--subdued and modern--with huge windows overlooking the streets, making you feel like a Peeping Tom to the world below. As you pick up your cloth napkins (a nice touch at lunch), you notice the menu also includes sushi and, although I don't eat it, I hear it's very good. Moo Shu pork is tasty with plum sauce and wraps. One should not miss the eggplant--delicious. I've had most of the dishes here. They are consistent and although Americanized, always good. I'm not in town summers to enjoy the outdoor seating, but I hear it's great high in the sky. ( I have used their take-out service and had it delivered--so easy!) Co-owner Larry La certainly does a great job. I have followed him from City Lights, then downtown DC Meiwah, and now here. He's a pro in making a diner feel welcome and satisfied as well as providing a reasonable price point. Don't forget to have your parking ticket stamped in MeiWah before leaving.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Mei Wah offers a fairly standard menu familiar to most American tastes. I've been a regular customer for a few years and count on it as reliable and consistent. Service is fast, location is terrific. I've seen that they work hard to accommodate special customer needs and preferences if there are problems with certain ingredients. For both takeout and delivery, they can't be beat in the neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiwah Restaurant also viewed

 
Chevy Chase, MD

Been to Meiwah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meiwah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.