We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, close to our hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's of Chevy Chase

Clyde's of Chevy Chase
5441 Wisconsin Avenue, Chevy Chase Center, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
301 951 9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's of Chevy Chase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willard Avenue
Transit: Red Line, Friendships Heights Metro
Description: The opening of Clyde's of Chevy Chase in 1995 brought more than just a fine dining experience to this growing Washington location. Situated in the heart of a prominent shopping district, this fascinating site celebrates the golden age of travel with steamships, planes and the Orient Express inside the two-level, 500 seat restaurant. Flavorful, fresh ingredients are used to prepare American style cuisine in the Travel Rooms on the main level, or in the casual atmosphere of the downstairs Race Bar and Dining Room.
Presque Isle, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, close to our hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a inexpensive, comfortable place to get a drink and a good burger, sandwich, or salad. My beef entree salad was excellent and my friends thought their burgers were excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    91
    37
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Need a little more emphasis on the food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Clyde's is a place I really want to love. The bartenders are great, the servers are friendly, I enjoy the decor in the restaurant, but the food just doesn't inspire me. I wish Clyde's would focus on its food and rev up the flavors. The trout is deep fried in too thick a batter, the salad dressing is bland, etc. I want to love this place - I want to have a local place that is my "go to" on the weekend or during the week...but Clyde's isn't that place yet. C'mon - fix your food! Make a great steak! Have a to-die-for entree list. Please?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“DC Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch was excellent with a combination of soup and oyster appetizer. Very nice abiance, excellent service and good value

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very decent breakfast fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had breakfast here while visiting friends nearby. The food was very good. The service was impeccable. The cost was not outrageous. Overall, I would suggest this for someone already in the area looking for a good meal. I am not sure what lunch/dinner are like, but they should be of comparable quallity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managua
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good ole clydes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There fish and chips I liked
The atmosphere I like , It is no mean feat to keep up the standards that Clydes's have managed over the years.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's of Chevy Chase also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's of Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's of Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.