We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, close to our hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde's of Chevy Chase

Clyde's of Chevy Chase
5441 Wisconsin Avenue, Chevy Chase Center, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
301 951 9600
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 29 restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willard Avenue
Transit: Red Line, Friendships Heights Metro
Presque Isle, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good service, close to our hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a inexpensive, comfortable place to get a drink and a good burger, sandwich, or salad. My beef entree salad was excellent and my friends thought their burgers were excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    23
    60
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Need a little more emphasis on the food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Clyde's is a place I really want to love. The bartenders are great, the servers are friendly, I enjoy the decor in the restaurant, but the food just doesn't inspire me. I wish Clyde's would focus on its food and rev up the flavors. The trout is deep fried in too thick a batter, the salad dressing is bland, etc. I want to love this place - I want to have a local place that is my "go to" on the weekend or during the week...but Clyde's isn't that place yet. C'mon - fix your food! Make a great steak! Have a to-die-for entree list. Please?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“DC Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch was excellent with a combination of soup and oyster appetizer. Very nice abiance, excellent service and good value

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very decent breakfast fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had breakfast here while visiting friends nearby. The food was very good. The service was impeccable. The cost was not outrageous. Overall, I would suggest this for someone already in the area looking for a good meal. I am not sure what lunch/dinner are like, but they should be of comparable quallity.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managua
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good ole clydes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There fish and chips I liked
The atmosphere I like , It is no mean feat to keep up the standards that Clydes's have managed over the years.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's of Chevy Chase also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's of Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde's of Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.