We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase

Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase
5455 Wisconsin Ave., Chevy Chase, MD 20815
3019611644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Western
Transit: Friendship Heights Metro station on the Red Line
DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fresh sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Some of the best sushi in town in a modern atmosphere and with outdoor dining when the weather is nice. Never had a bad piece of sushi and the seaweed salad is outstanding.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The only place i associate with superior lunch in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Great bar tender, good menu, extremely fresh sushis, a bit pricy but well worth it if you re in. Mood for ushi our other oriental dish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in suburban DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Tho hard to find in Chevy Chase, Sushi Ko was an excellent dinner choice. . .great friendly, helpful service and delicious food. . .only had sushi and rolls, but all excellent. We'll definitely visit again when in DC

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great steak at this sushi spot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We ate here for a family group event. We were in a private room with a group. Service seemed good, a bit slow but that was probably due to the size of the group. I had the steak and it was VERY good. Banana tempura dessert was great as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SUSHI NOT AS IMAGINATIVE AS THE DELICIOUS OTHER DISHES”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are sushi LOVERS. We go to sushi houses over steakhouses. So when the time came to try Sushi-Ko, we were looking forward to it. But other than the sushi topped with fruit (e.g. mango) that many other place do, the sushi was common and not blow-your-mind fresh or tasty. Tight, nice rolls and fresh.

BUT WAIT! Smoked mussel and eggplant miso soup? Great taste combination. Wild mushroom soup?? Very good (stock could be richer). The seared lobster and scallop and the fish carpaccio were top notch--excellent! So treat yourself to the other dishes on the menu as entres and minimize the sushi on your order. Someday, they may have as much inspiration and taste in their sushi as they do in their excellent other dishes.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.