We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic Italian and Greek food restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoli Canoli Restaurant

Manoli Canoli Restaurant
8540 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
301.951.1818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manoli Canoli Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: TW PERRY
Transit: Yes. Bus stop directly across the street from the restaurant.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great basic Italian and Greek food restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was impressed by Manoli Canoli. Service was very friendly and efficient. The food portions were generous and the food itself quite good. Prices were extremely reasonable. The menu is quite varied with all the basic Italian and Greek offerings. The setting is simple and it can get noisy with all the tables in a relatively small space inside; there were a number of families with children when we had dinner there and that added to the brouhaha of the place. But overall it was a very enjoyable meal with attentive service and we will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great secret spot tucked away in Chevy Chase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Years ago, this little spot, with a dozen indoor and a few outdoor tables next to Connecticut Avenue, was called Marcella's and run by the family of an Italian soldier turned comedian and his feathered helmet sat high on a shelf collecting dust. They had great pizza and pasta and the family photos and newspaper clippings were fun to explore. About 4 years ago, the place experienced a renaissance and emerged with a leaner/cleaner interior to rival nearby Starbucks and a menu that straddles Greek and Italian food beautifully. The pizza is still great and in addition to the home made sauces (like Pesto and Walnut) and pasta you can take home from the freezer, you can take home some of the family made/imported olive oil from the Greek co-owner's family. The menu is bipolar, with many Italian and Greek standards and I've never had a bad meal. Its not the kind of place where you'll roll out stuffed - the portions are appropriate but not overbearing. On our recent visit, we had Super Salads and a Greek Salad followed by the white pizza. The pizza crust is home made and on the thin side, though not paper thin. The sauce was homemade and perfectly seasoned. The highlight is the homemade mozzarella that was on my Super Salad and the pizza. Just perfect. You can take home some of the homemade mozzarella too. We finished up our meal with canoli. They were out of the "regular" size, so we enjoyed 2 each of the smaller finger size, perfect filling, drizzled with raspberry sauce and sprinkled with miniature chocolate chips. Food was excellent! On a Saturday afternoon, the service was attentive, but gave a moment's humor. When the pizza arrived, one of us asked for grated cheese - thinking of the hand-grated Parmesan we have gotten in the past. Instead our young server misunderstood and brought us a plate of sliced mozzarella. We went with flow and layered on the mozzarella - yum. Although we stuck with the homemade iced tea, you can enjoy a glass of wine with your meal as well. During our Saturday afternoon, we shared the restaurant with a family with kids, a few neighborhood folks and a few couples. No blaring music, no jockeying for a chair or wifi, just quiet hum of conversation. The old pics and newspaper clippings are still hanging on the back hall, along with some pics of new family members - great blend of old and new.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“comfort food en route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This restaurant ought to be available all over! "Pasta con Melanzane...Penne pasta with eggplant, garlic, basil, their famous homemade mozarella cheese, "...and the tomatoe sauce tasted like a special inhouse recipe as well...everything done to perfection...our car overheated and we left it to cool at a gas station across the street from Manoli Canoli's, on the way home from Fort Lauderdale and onwards to Canada...the food soothed the nerves and is a spot from Italian food heaven, I Love Greek food as well, so now we have to go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lame.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Soggy pasta, burned sauce and weak tzatski sauce. Won't return.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek and Italian in Casual Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This family-run restaurant is a great place for lunch or family dinner. The food is top quality, authentic Greek and Italian. Much of the menu incorporates olive oil from the owner's father's grove in Greece. Great Greek dishes include the chicken souvlaki and the horiatiki salad (which can be ordered large/small and with or without chicken/shrimp/gyro). Great Italian dishes include the pizza, pasta melanzano, and cold cut subs made with real Italian cold cuts that friends say taste just the way they do in Italy. Free parking in back (it's in a strip mall about 1/2 mile from the Connecticut Avenue exit of the beltway). Tiramisu and Greek desserts. Full bar. Side of broccoli can be ordered, and it is very nicely steamed in a plain and healthy manner. Starbucks next door--and gas stations too--so you can stop here on your way through the area if you're on a road trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoli Canoli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Manoli Canoli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoli Canoli Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.