We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    125
    96
    47
    35
See reviews for
170
64
28
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I checked in my room cause my furnace broke. Even though i checked into the hotel to get out the cold it seems i just wasted my money to stay in the child. We changed rooms and they both were cold. we had the heat on high and the room never warmed. The breakfast in the morning wasn't really great. Not much of a selection at all. I won't ever be returning.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Marcellus; Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay. The comfort of our guests is our top priority and we sincerely apologize to you for the unpleasant experience you had. Due to the severe cold temperatures we were having issues with the heat and cable, and while we are working on this to have everything 100% operational as quickly as possible, it was unfortunately not fully functioning during your stay. I cannot take back the experience you had, I can only ask that you reconsider a future stay as what you experienced was a isolated incident and not the norm for the hotel.

Thank you,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not easy to find a good value hotel in Washington DC, so I explored some more budget-friendly options around and discovered this Howard Johnson Inn. I wasn't expecting too much - and I got almost what I expected. No more, no less.

Not too comfortable, not too clean (but not dirty either), not too much of a service, some breakfast included in the rate (continental, and with plastic dishes, spoons and forks).

A good thing to say about this hotel is the free shuttle bus that runs to and from Cheverly metro station.

A bad thing to remember are the multiple butterflies and other insects (no moskitos, though), attracted by the swimming pool (closed in September) and the trees around it. Wouldn't recommend it too warm, wouldn't tell you not to stay there either. If it helps your budget and you want to be less than 30 minutes away from Washington DC, it's a way to achieve it.

Good enough for 2-3 nights.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Thomasbg; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with me. We always strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and guest comfort is very important to us. I see we did not exceed your expectations as we had hoped, but met them. I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant experience. The outdoor pool is closed permanently it will be safe and comfortable to warm during the Spring and Summer months, but the mosquito due make an appearance then.

Thank you again for your business and feedback for us. We hope you consider a future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful time after the snafu with my reservations not being able to be filled. The Manager called the GM and took good care of me.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tiffany; I appreciate you taking the time to share your review with me. Thank you for the kind words for our staff and manager, I am very pleased to see that we quickly turned the situation around for you and you had a great stay.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel will keep you coming back! rooms are spacious and tidy and staff are extremely friendly. Most importantly, pricing is just right. I had planned to stay there for a week, I ended up spending 3 weeks. The Hotel Manager Here, Mr Todd, is such a great guy who added triple value to my memorable stay. I will surely be back!!

Room Tip: in room wifi is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tripdemsy; Thank you for the very kind remarks and positive feedback for us.

I appreciate your review and pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I am delighted to see that Todd stood out to you as delivering on our promise for an exceptional customer experience. I'll share your comments with him.

Please come back and visit us soon.

Thank you,

Sarah L.
E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was dark and not very modern looking. I was also very dissapointed with the state of the bathroom. It appeared to be "clean" but there was rust on the shower fixtures, the bathtub slip pad was tattered, and and there was a heavy layer of dust on the air return. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jill; I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with me.

We take great pride in our hotel and our guest comfort is very important to us. While I am pleased to see you found the room clean and comfortable, I am disappointed to read the condition of the bathroom was not up to our high brand standards, please accept my apologies for that. I'll bring this to the attention of the housekeeping department to ensure the items you mentioned are taken care of right away. Thank you for your feedback and for your business. We do hope you'll consider a future stay so we can show you a better experience.

Sincerely,
Sarah L.
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC North / BW Parkway hotel, located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly hotel near University of Maryland College Park offers the comforts and conveniences you expect at a reliable value. Start your morning with a smile and help yourself to free Rise & Dine continental breakfast with hot items. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, business facilities, in-room refrigerators, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Join us at Fratelli's Italian Restaurant on-site at our Cheverly hotel for a tasty meal at your convenience. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the D.C. Metro Cheverly Station and Prince George's Hospital Center. Our hotel in Cheverly features a lobby business center with copy and fax service. We also offer meeting and banquet facilities for your next event. Our Cheverly hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown Washington, DC. Make sure to see iconic landmarks like Jefferson Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and the White House. Pay respects to those who served the country at Vietnam Memorial and World War II Memorial. Take the family to Six Flags America, or learn something exciting at Smithsonian Institute. Sports fan will appreciate our close proximity to the local venues including, FedEx Field to watch a Washington Redskins football game, RFK Stadium to watch D.C. United play soccer, or Verizon Center for a Wizards basketball game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.