We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was very conveinently located to the Metro and all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    114
    89
    44
    34
See reviews for
162
57
24
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Would recommend this hotel - great value and surprisingly comfortable, large, attractive, quiet room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you very much for the great 4 star review. We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful experience at our hotel. It was our pleasure having you here. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Doubt you'll find a more affordable place to stay near DC that provides breakfast and free metro shuttle. Large, clean rooms, incredibly helpful staff (especially the night manager, who's name I don't recall, but was super nice - asked if we needed anything at bfast and made sure we were happy). I'd say you get what you pay for, but in DC you generally pay A LOT for a little; the $75 night we paid was a BARGAIN for 2 double beds, free and timely metro shuttle and waffles/fruit continental breakfast. No frills and beds were less than desireable (but we sleep on Stearns & Foster at home, so few hotel beds will compare). We were only there 1 night/2 days. Wifi worked fine and our room had a fridge and micro (which we didn't use). Not high end, but clean, safe place to stay. Would DEFINITELY stay again and recommend if you don't need to be pampered. If you do, be ready to pay for it in DC. (More expensive than NYC with less options.)

Room Tip: Ask for room in the lobby building. Other building -- which we stayed in -- is older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the wonderful review and the 5 stars. We take great pride in our hotel and exceptional customer service. We are delighted to see it showed and it truly means a lot to us to know that we far exceeded your expectations, which lead to you and your family having a great experience at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We came with a bus trip from Pittsburg Pa.in March. Staff was super people! Rooms were nice and clean.Breakfast was great! Titus did a fine job!Hotel went out of there way to make us happy!! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Jeffrey; Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very pleased that you and the entire tour group enjoyed the stay. We really appreciate the compliments for our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and how good the breakfast was. Thank you again for choosing to stay with the Howard Johnson Washington DC North, It was truly our pleasure to host the group and please contact us when you are ready to book next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC North / BW Parkway hotel, located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly hotel near University of Maryland College Park offers the comforts and conveniences you expect at a reliable value. Start your morning with a smile and help yourself to free Rise & Dine continental breakfast with hot items. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, business facilities, in-room refrigerators, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Join us at Fratelli's Italian Restaurant on-site at our Cheverly hotel for a tasty meal at your convenience. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the D.C. Metro Cheverly Station and Prince George's Hospital Center. Our hotel in Cheverly features a lobby business center with copy and fax service. We also offer meeting and banquet facilities for your next event. Our Cheverly hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown Washington, DC. Make sure to see iconic landmarks like Jefferson Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and the White House. Pay respects to those who served the country at Vietnam Memorial and World War II Memorial. Take the family to Six Flags America, or learn something exciting at Smithsonian Institute. Sports fan will appreciate our close proximity to the local venues including, FedEx Field to watch a Washington Redskins football game, RFK Stadium to watch D.C. United play soccer, or Verizon Center for a Wizards basketball game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.