We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded hotel provides much better user experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Upgraded hotel provides much better user experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is an update report after my previous visit last year that wasn't so joyful. this time stayed for 2 weeks.

The management of the Howard Johnson has certainly tried their best to upgrade the hotel. Although it meant things like new carpets and many rooms with new beds and TV's, the basic hotel infrastructure such as bathrooms and the noisy air conditioners are as such unchanged. The upgrade does however make a big difference and the in-room experience is certainly now a lot better. The hotel still has some of the largest rooms around!

Nice but small gym and large swimming pool. Internet is free but very slow when hotel is full (they really should get a second line).

I would to mention the front desk staff – really friendly and helpful at that. I have used the shuttle to the metro station three times and also found the driver very friendly and careful. The Manager also enquired twice about our experience and he is certainly very involved, often visibly engaging things. I also had a pretty major hygiene issue in my room and Rasshawn and another new front desk lady were very quick onto the issue. The manager also became involved. In a way, mistakes happen, but it is how you fix them that really matters!

Breakfast now includes a hot oatmeal/gritts porridge, something I really enjoy to have with the fresh fruit and yoghurt.

So, overall there has been real progress at this hotel and I think that the Management is sincere in working to enhance the user experience. The rates are very competitive and it certainly represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed near the semi-permanent construction worker guests - they can be very noisy ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Chris; On behalf of the hotel management we'd like to personally say welcome back and thank you for the updated review and for your return visit to the Howard Johnson.

Sometimes a friendly smile, a hello, and a few minutes to ask how your day is or to inquire about sites you took in can make all the difference in the world. The hotel has made some great progress over the past year and we are still working on the bigger things you mentioned but all the little things added up to a big difference for you from your last visit and we are very pleased about that.

We realize the internet connection isnt the best but we are in a very old, solid building and many people on line, it may have added to the slower connection.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest once again Chris, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    112
    86
    43
    33
See reviews for
157
57
24
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night. The staff were friendly. Ambiance and breakfast were good. It has shuttle to nearest metro station. The staff will take care the paper work and will take care of everything. One of the staff, Titus says 'stay relax and enjoy the stay, we will take care of everything'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Titus is a great team member and we appreciate you taking the time to personally recognize him in your review. We will pass along the compliment to him.

We can't thank you enough for the 5 stars, it was our pleasure having you as our guest. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Sarah G
Manager
Howard Johnson Washington DC North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAMINGHAM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here since it was the halfway point of our trip. We got in late, the staff was great, got to our room, the room was perfect. We slept great. Then we left the next moring. It was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great stay as it was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Stop by and see us again the next time your travels bring through the Washington DC Metro area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The neighbourhood was extremely unsafe. The only food around the hotel was burger king or McDonald's. We asked for a wake up call and they forgot. The service was terrible. The hotel staff couldn't even explain to us the attractions and the transportation necessary to get into Washington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback however; we were a bit surprised to see the negative comments for several reasons. First, the hotel is located in a safe area directly off the main highway with easy access to and from Washington DC. Our front desk team which coincidently receives rave reviews on Trip Advisor for their customer service greets every guest professionally and warmly and their knowledge of the area is great. The hotel offers maps of the Metro to help our guests navigate the system once our complimentary shuttle takes them to Cheverly Metro and we also provide current up to date brochures in the main lobby of things to do and places to visit while in DC. Lastly, Fratellis Italian Restaurant is located on site and there are other non fast food restaurants a short drive away with a wide variety of cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway

Address: 5811 Annapolis Road/I-295, Cheverly, MD 20784
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Howard Johnson Inn Washington DC North / BW Parkway hotel, located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly hotel near University of Maryland College Park offers the comforts and conveniences you expect at a reliable value. Start your morning with a smile and help yourself to free Rise & Dine continental breakfast with hot items. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, business facilities, in-room refrigerators, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Join us at Fratelli's Italian Restaurant on-site at our Cheverly hotel for a tasty meal at your convenience. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the D.C. Metro Cheverly Station and Prince George's Hospital Center. Our hotel in Cheverly features a lobby business center with copy and fax service. We also offer meeting and banquet facilities for your next event. Our Cheverly hotel is only a 20-minute drive from downtown Washington, DC. Make sure to see iconic landmarks like Jefferson Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and the White House. Pay respects to those who served the country at Vietnam Memorial and World War II Memorial. Take the family to Six Flags America, or learn something exciting at Smithsonian Institute. Sports fan will appreciate our close proximity to the local venues including, FedEx Field to watch a Washington Redskins football game, RFK Stadium to watch D.C. United play soccer, or Verizon Center for a Wizards basketball game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.