We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
25227 Chestertown Road, Chestertown, MD 21620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Pet Friendly Rooms
Ranked #2 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent our 10th anniversary here, and everything was perfect. We stayed in the Russell Cottage which was spacious and comfortable. The cottage had a private little courtyard where we could sit outside and it was also a great place to stow our bicycles. But we also enjoyed spending time with the other guests on the beautiful front porch during afternoon tea and in the evening before retiring. Breakfast was great. Flexible times and several options each morning. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds and just relaxing! Since we are avid birdwatchers, my only regret is that we did not see the barred owl that other guests watched at night. We highly recommend this Inn and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
The birding right here on the property has been exceptional this summer. I wish you could have seen "Ollie" the barred owl during your visit. Almost daily our guests get a glimpse and get to watch this ordinarily very shy bird fly from one tree to the next. This is a first for almost everybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
234
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Suffice it to say Danielle and Company (hushband and Rita) are wonderful hosts. They make a great breakfast and afternoon snack, plus yummy cookies in their back den throughout the day. We stayed in the Green Room on the third floor, which was quite spacious.

The grounds are wonderful and keep the Inn isolated in its own world.

But without a doubt the best thing was sitting and relaxing on their extensive front porch one rainy Tuesday afternoon. It was so relaxing. Spent several pleasant moments with several guests on the porch as well.

Kent County Is a quiet place, but there are still many things to do and see.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room on the third floor, which was very roomy. Had a peek at two of the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
One of the best places to be on a rainy summer afternoon, is on our porch, sipping a cold drink while sitting in a rocking chair. I’m so glad you took advantage of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took advantage of this lovely inn's weekday special and spent 3 romantic nights in the Olivia's Meadow Cottage. It looks exactly like the picture and then some. If you want total privacy this is the cottage for you. We were greeted by Rita who is one of the Inn's biggest assets. She is warm, knowledgeable and just about one of the sweetest people we had the pleasure of meeting. We had one of Danielle's delectable breakfasts in the dining room but chose to have the other two brought to our cottage. We met some great guests at the 4pm gathering in the dining room. I quess the only downside for us was the lack of things to do in Chestertown. Dinner at the Imperiol Hotel was very good and it's history added to the experience. Our favorite meal was in the town of Rock Hall at the very tiny Kitchen. Make a reservation you won't be disappointed. All in all we had a very relaxing get away. Thanks to everyone at the Brampton for their genuine hospitality.

Room Tip: The cottages are very special. If you're looking for a touch of romance this is the way to go.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very smart. Never missed those little bottles. More Inns should follow their lead. If by chance you were able to finish the whole bottle of shampoo for example, it would be refilled.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
There is no better compliment than to hear that our guests totally relaxed at the Brampton. We are so glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just got back from a two night stay in the Fairy Hill Suite at the Brampton Inn. This Inn is exceptional in every way--from the beautiful decor, to the gourmet breakfasts, the lovely surroundings and all the little details, so thoughtfully provided. We found so much to do in the area, fantastic dining at the Kitchen in Rock Hall and the Blue Heron in Chestertown, gracious landscapes to cycle through, a visit to the extraordinary Eastern Neck National Wildlife Refuge.

Now that we have discovered this part of Maryland--and especially this amazing inn--we are already planning return trips. It's only an hour and a half from where we live outside Baltimore.
What a find!

Room Tip: We loved the Fairy Hill Suite--it's almost like having a lovely little cottage, except that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Brampton Inn is a true gem! During our stay, the stress of our lives was lessened by every glass of lemonade on the wrap around porch, the yummy muffins in the morning, the great suggestions of local activities and restaurants , and the Mulberry Cottage. In the cottage we enjoyed the lucious bed, comfy chairs, incredible shower, porch swing, hammock, and the incredible Japanese soaking tub. If you want a little step back to a more relaxed time, stay at the Brampton. It is a beautiful find.

Room Tip: The Cottages are very private. Bright, large,and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I checked into the Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn on a Sunday and were in the Mulberry Cottage. We were greeted by Rita, who was extremely engaging an helpful. We drove our SUV into the red barn structure lining the private entrance to the cottage and opened the door into tranquility. I was reminded of literature--"Howard's End," "Lady Chatterley's Lover," "The Secret Garden," any sort of enchanted tale that involves a hidden world cleverly ensconced not far from the real one.

The cottage is completely private and boasts an outdoor shower, placed amid the hydrangeas and tiger lilies; a fantastic Japanese soaking tub in a close-by screened-in porch; a steam shower; and a whirlpool bathtub.

This was a big birthday (read: painful) for me and I wanted the perfect escape, and we got it. My husband and I got to reconnect, recharge, reinvigorate and--relax. We went to the main B&B plantation house for tea one afternoon, which was very nice, but for the most part we stayed on our own and opted for the very pleasant choice of having breakfast delivered to our cottage each morning. That was huge. We sat on the porch, underneath the ceiling fans, and had breakfast al fresco in our own private sanctuary.

We toured historic Chestertown one morning and then returned to the cottage to enjoy the solitude and the quiet. On our last evening, we soaked in the Japanese tub and marveled at the tiny paparazzi show of fireflies lighting up the meadow and the tress beyond in spectacular fashion.

It took two nights of superior service, accommodations and attention to detail for us to really feel like we had gotten away, and gotten back to the best part of ourselves. We bade farewell to Danielle, the warm and inviting proprietress, on our last day, determined to return again.

Room Tip: Mulberry Cottage, a private area adjacent to a meadow, is lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are locally grown products in their beautiful garden (we had asparagus omelettes this morning; they have an opt-out for towel washing...
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Overall very good experience. One caveat - in June the bugs are out and it is heavily wooded, so we did not get to take advantage of walking the grounds. Otherwise everything was great. Breakfasts were excellent. My wife said the mattress was the best she ever slept on (and she is picky). No cable, but TV got NBC so I was set for Stanley Cup (besides, it's a romantic getaway). The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Walking the grounds after all the rain these past few weeks was indeed a bit of a challenge. Thank goodness for the porch with the ceiling fans that make it possible to enjoy the outdoors protected from the critters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 25227 Chestertown Road, Chestertown, MD 21620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an historic and award winning bed and breakfast in Chestertown, MD. Our romantic Chestertown, Maryland hotel is situated on 35 beautiful acres with gorgeous gardens, glorious views and scrumptious breakfasts! Unforgettable rooms and suites at our Chesapeake bed and breakfast offer whirlpool tubs, body-jetted showers, wood burning fireplaces, fluffy robes, flat screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Treat someone special to the most romantic setting of any of Maryland’s Eastern Shore inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brampton Hotel Chestertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.