We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Whistle

The Fish Whistle
98 Cannon St, Chestertown, MD 21620-1582 (Formerly Reiley's on the River)
410-778-3566
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cape May, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Only waterfront restaurant in Chestertown. Food was very good.
Maru;and Crab soup was excellent. I had fish cakes that were a combination of tuna, salmon and cod. They were different, but
good. I felt that the tuna overwhelmed the taste.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    78
    43
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The fish and chips were good. The service was a little slow, not sure if the waitress had too many tables. One member of our party asked for a change in the one dish, and although the waitress said it could be done, when the sandwich arrived, it still had the spicy sauce in it. Overall, it was an average type experience. Do not think we would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salad time and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A late meal, we had seared tuna in a salad which was excellent. Location on riverfront is wonderful. Dining room is a little cold. Service is excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location and the food was fine, but I cannot remember what we ate, just the lovely sunset and good, cold beer.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch on winter's afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had stopped years ago here and wasn't sure what to expect. Had my favorite wine, Sonoma Cutrer at $8 a glass. Had the spring mix with blue cheese crumbles, cranberries, candied walnuts, apple slices. pear slices and topped with a moist chicken breast stuffed with pesto. Yummy. Recommend to all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Whistle also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Whistle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.