We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was hoping for greatness” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Cafe and Inn

Blue Heron Cafe and Inn
236 Cannon St, Ste 1, Chestertown, MD 21620-1574
410-778-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Chestertown
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Was hoping for greatness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had heard this place had great oyster fritters so went out for a treat one night, as it's fairly expensive. Genuinely wanted to love it. The atmosphere is like a something from a mid-price 70s hotel dining room. Bad carpet, chairs, feng shui, uncomfortable room... but we prepared to overlook that with an order from the bar--which is sort of a podium on the side of the dining room. The place was empty when we arrived, but finally other people showed--appeared to be 100% college students and their grandparents.

Oyster fritter was not good--more like a bizarre frittata. The rest of our food was average to below. Service was overbearing and stuffy. And the check was ridiculous. Would have been much happier at Brooks Tavern, Lemon Leaf or Fish Whistle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over priced decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently had dinner at the Blue Heron cafe. The steak was nice, good cut in a savory sauce. The seafood stew was fine - not great but not terrible. The shellfish were too large for my dining companion to eat (i.e., they were larger than 1 inch) but the fish and lobster were good. The sauce/broth was so-so. We tried the oyster friiter this restuarant is known for. It was fine...essentially tasted like fried oyster in bisquick. For the price, we expected more, but it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have eaten in the Blue Heron several times and they were great. This time the oyster fritter was raw on the inside as I picked out the oysters to eat. My fault should have sent back just to tired from driving all day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have been here a few times while visiting our son at Washington College and live in a small town know for its great restaurants and the Blue Heron is right up there with them. Great fish and steaks. Their homemade ice cream is the BEST I have ever had, and yes you can tell it really is homemade.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“oyster fritter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The oyster fritter at the Blue Heron is better than any I have had. We celebrated my birthday & anniversary there and couldn't have had a more pleasant dining experience.

Will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe and Inn also viewed

 
Chestertown, MD
 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Cafe and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.