We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Cafe and Inn

Blue Heron Cafe and Inn
236 Cannon St, Ste 1, Chestertown, MD 21620-1574
410-778-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Chestertown
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Terrific fresh food, beautifully presented. A lovely atmosphere. Desserts were homemade, and the staff could not have been friendlier.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Blue Heron Cafe - Nice atmoshphere, great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Although the individuals who recommended this place to us said it was pricey, I found the entrees to be quite reasonable. Just about all fell into the $16 to $24 range. The was a very nice selection of both appetizers and entre's to fit a wide variety of tastes. Service was great, even the owner (or manager? ) spent time talking to us. The setting was quaint and very nice. The wife and I are not large people so we started with a bottle of wine (Estancia Pinot Noir) and shared the tomato/mozzarella salad with local farm fresh tomatoes (excellent flavor). We are both scallop lovers so we both had the pan seared scallops which were served in a coconut milk glaze with fresh coconut (cooked that way apparently). Wow, they were outstanding! They were perfectly bronzed on both top and bottom, just the way we like them and the coconut flavor was the perfect complement to the delicate flavor of the scallops. We had to pass on desert since we were stuffed as a result of all the excellent food we've had on this trip. The eastern shore of Maryland is a beautiful place and well worth a visit. While there I'd definitely include the Blue Heron Cafe on my itinerary.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have known Billy and Yeniz for some years now and cafe inn is by far our favourite its near the calis sunday market .All the staff are really friendly and the food is very good with very generous portions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good dinner with nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Blue Heron. Easy parking, lovely decor and soft music added to the experience. Warm, fresh bread served with seasoned olive oil satisfied us before our main dishes of crab cake and Crab stuffed shrimp. The shrimp dish was an appetizer that was enlarged to a dinner portion of 6 stuffed shrimp, solely with crab meat, and had an accompaniment of sautéed fresh zucchini, corn and basmati rice, all delicious and generous portions. Too full for dessert, so did not taste the creme brulee, pecan pie, or flourless chocolate cake. Iced coffee was enough. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best scallops I have ever eaten!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Blue Heron hadn't been our first choice, but we ended up going there by default, and it was a pleasant surprise. I had the scallops seared in a lime sauce that were out of this world! Clean, well presented, overall a positive experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe and Inn also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Cafe and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.