We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Imperial Hotel
208 High Street, Chestertown, MD 21620
410 778 5000; 800 295 0014
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
princeton nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Imperial is a very popular place due to its multitude of events all year round. Wine tastings every other tuesday and seasonal menus are just the beginning. The food is impeccable albeit expensive. The staff is friendly and so are the chefs, I have spoken to the desert chef on more than one occasion. The owner of the Imperial is also friendly and loves to chat with the patrons. Check out this bar early on weekdays for an awesome happy hour.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good environment but average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant itself is very nice and it's a great stop for lunch. The food is not bad but nothing I would be writing home about. It's probably one of the better options in Chestertown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Imperial is known for a few things (including the fact that the former chef was a finalist on a Food Network show), but unfortunately I am less pleased with the restaurant than I have been. I find the food well-prepared for the most part, but the new dishes seem to be increasing in price and decreasing in size. The pancetta pasta is a dish that I would not order again, but the steak and seafood dishes are usually delicious and well-prepared.

Still a good place for drinks / happy hour / wine (though skip the $5 Happy Hour nachos, which consist of great cheese but only about 7 chips). Even outside of happy hour, the drinks are reasonably priced.

The entrees are always fresh and use local ingredients, and the chef / servers are willing to substitute or change sauces based on dietary needs. However, know that while you will likely enjoy your food, you will likely also feel that you overpaid.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant Part of the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The continental breakfast was adequate but had no fresh fruit, and only served frozen orange juice. The one full breakfast we had was OK but not great.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Thursday Night in Chestertown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I, on our quest for our favorite place to eat and stay lead us to Chestertown, MD. The quaint county seat of Kent County is full of the history of Maryland. We stay at a B&B just outside of town and chose to have dinner at the Imperial Hotel (The Front Room restaurant). We had read all the Trip Advisor reviews and they were inconsistent to say the least. We decided to take a chance and made our reservations. One of the reasons we chose this establishment was their drink menu because we always like to try something different and they had a wide choice of retro cocktails. Our lovely waitress suggested some appetizers – which were great (Tempura Shrimp and Fried Mozzarella) As for the entrees, my husband had the oxtail stew special which was super flavorful but a bit messy trying to pick through the “tail” part. I had the New England stew – a little salty (but I have been on a no salt kick). We sat in the window and watched the locals drink and smoke at the tables on the sidewalk. We had great service and the cost of the meal including several drinks was less than $120 and you can’t beat that.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.