We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lodging option for the four of us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Bed and Bread

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Bed and Bread
Save
You added Simply Bed and Bread to your Saves list
208 Mount Vernon Ave, Chestertown, MD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
“Perfect lodging option for the four of us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I traveled with his parents to Chestertown for a wedding. We could not have found a better spot to spend the weekend. Cheryl and Dave were the perfect hosts. The B+B was spotless and filled with many pleasant surprises. I loved the Godiva mint chocolate drops that were waiting for me in my room. Each room had a mini fridge and a flat screen TV. The breakfasts were wonderful, again filled with special treats. Chestertown is a great little gem of a town-many cute shops, and a wonderful farmer's market, all within walking distance from the B+B. We enjoyed our time at Simply Bed and Bread, the perfect lodging option for the four of us, and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
57
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MDtravelguy08
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were amazed to find Simply Bed and Bread nestled in historic Chestertown. A short walk from downtown and the river-front, you don't have to go far to find things to do. The proprietors were very welcoming and provided us just the right balance of attention and privacy. The room was great, with comfortable bed and a large TV. The breakfast was amazing! Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Cheryl is the perfect hostess - eager to serve, loves to talk and yes, listen too - and cooks up a delicious and creative breakfast, with plenty to eat. Her husband David is down to earth and a pleasure to get to know.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We had a lovely stay at Simply Bed and Bread. Cheryl and David made us feel right at home. They have only been doing this for a short time, but it seemed like they were old pros. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. Breakfast and other snacks were delicious. Cheryl was always ready and willing to serve us and to meet our needs. When we got lost in Chestertown, David came to our rescue. A lovely couple with a delightful B&B. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

What a treat to stay at Simply Bed & Bread! We felt so at home and found the owners to be gracious and also very helpful in planning our day trips. Great breakfasts, books and information on Delmarva and located so close to downown and the water.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our 36th anniversary and needed some respite from the challenges of caring for our special needs daughter. We made plans to visit Chestertown, MD because we enjoy historical architecture and exploring different neighborhood settings. The B&B location was perfect - a quiet side street close to Washington College, and an easy walk into the center of town. Our hosts Cheryl and David were warm and gracious, and very helpful with info about the area, local events, restaurant recommendations etc. Our charming room (with a california king-size bed and flat screen tv) was spacious and filled with so many surprises which I won't spoil for future guests! Suffice it to say that there is much attention to detail here. Breakfast was tasty with generous portions, and the homemade cinnamon buns are to die for!!
Many thanks to Cheryl and David for making us feel so welcome and helping us to relax and regroup.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay that is impeccable in every sense of the word, then stay at Simply Bed and Bread. This new B & B is located near Washington College and within walking distance of downtown Chestertown. We stayed here while house hunting for a second home. The innkeepers, natives of Chestertown, could not have made us feel more welcome. The house and rooms are meticulously maintained with every detail thought out and provided for. This is a small B& B, with two rooms and a shared bath and the second floor. Both rooms were spotless and charming. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also spotless (this from someone who gets the heebeegees fairly easily). Reasonable, you'll get way more than you pay for....a trye hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simply Bed and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Bed and Bread

Address: 208 Mount Vernon Ave, Chestertown, MD
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think home-y, not hotel.Think character, not cookie-cutter.Think individualized, not generic.Think fresh, not frou-frou.Think stocking feet, not stuffy.Think friendly, not formal.Private. Yet personal.2 cozy, spacious, allergy-friendly upstairs rooms in a 1947 Cape Cod on a quiet street 100 yards from Washington College. Close to the hospital, Heron Point, historic downtown and the waterfront. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Bed and Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.