We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely gallery and shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Arts Chestertown

River Arts Chestertown
315 High Street, Suite 106, Chestertown, MD 21620
+1 410-778-6300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Chestertown
Type: Educational Sites
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: RiverArts Mission: To engage our community in the creation, appreciation, and support of the arts through education, events, and exhibitions. RiverArts Vision: To inspire and foster creativity as a positive and sustainable force that enriches our community and establishes the region as a premier arts destination.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely gallery and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

RiverArts is in a new location in Chestertown, and has a lovely gallery. The gift shop had a nice variety, some particularly beautiful wood pieces. Lots of items under $100. I plan on doing a good bit of my holiday shopping here (and giving my husband a wishlist for me...). We enjoyed the free Studio Tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful little gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My first visit here was for a class on photographing the illuminated Downrigging tall ships at night. The staff members were all extremely warm and friendly, and the building is lovely and welcoming. After the class I spent at least half an hour looking at the small collection of wonderful local art. Great place to shop for work featuring the schooner Sultana or local wildlife, as well as beautiful jewelry and fine woodworking.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice place in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Come on a Saturday morning and take part in one of the best Farmers Markets on the Eastern Shore. The street along Fountain park is lined with local farmers, bakers and craftsman defining the word "fresh". Fresh flowers, vegetables, bread and baked goods mixed together with hand-made candles, soaps and crafts.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Replaced by Chester River Artworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Chester River Craft & Art School closed 10 years ago and was replaced by Chester River Artworks, a non profit located at 306 Park Row across from the Town Green. Artworks has a lovely small gallery with shows that change monthly as well as a shop with local fine art and craft items. Classes are offered in a variety of media including ceramic which are taught in a large Clay Studio located at a different venue in Worton, MD. See www.artworkschestertown.org for more information.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Arts Chestertown also viewed

 

Been to River Arts Chestertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Arts Chestertown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.