We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Tavern

White Swan Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Swan Tavern
Save Saved
You added White Swan Tavern to your Saves list
231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Historic Get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent a weekend at the White Swan....the staff, our room, afternoon tea...everything was great! They had afternoon tea from 3-5, hosted by a staff member who also teaches at Washington College; he was a delight. We enjoyed the display of artifacts found when the old tavern was restored. We enjoyed walking around the old colonial town of Chestertown, and having lunch on the water at the fish restaurant on the river. Breakfast was "continental", but hot scones and rolls added considerably. Our room and bath were very nice. One of the beds was a little on the firm side, but fine. Enjoyed the colonial furnishings. Air conditioning was fine, and we needed it! The guests' living room with TV was charming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C., USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The White Swan is a historic building used prior to 1733 as a tannery and then as a tavern beginning in 1793. Beautifully restored, the rooms are large and comfortable. Located on High St. in the middle of the historic district of Chestertown on the Eastern Shore of MD, this is the perfect place for a quiet week-end. We loved it and will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the White Swan Tavern several times over the past fifteen years, and always loved being there. The inn is completely unique in our experience; being small-scale, intimate, magnificently restored and filled with items consistent with eighteenth-century colonial American design. The two front rooms available for all guests to use on the ground floor give such an authentic ambience of a colonial era inn that you have to remind yourself that you not in a museum setting such as Williamsburg. One of the rooms is set up as a colonial-era tavern would be, with a variety of tables and chairs - now used as the setting for guests' breakfast. The library on the ground floor is very comfortably furnished like a living room in a fine colonial-era house, has a working fireplace for use in the colder months, and a writing desk with captain's chair. It also has an unobtrusive, small tv set.
On this visit, my wife and I were there with our three adult children and their spouses, to celebrate our anniversary and the birthday of one of our children. We had four rooms, all of them exceedingly comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated in 18th-century style.
The attention to detail and historical authenticity is remarkable. We know of no place that equals it. The moldings and walls in all the rooms are freshly painted. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and tidy.
There is a large bricked patio at the back that looks out over a large and well-kept garden area.
The patio is equipped with several wrought iron type tables and chairs. The weather was ideal during the weekend we were there this time, and our family sat outside a lot, listening to the birdsong, talking and sipping coffee in the morning and wine before dinner.
The staff of the White Swan Tavern was consistently welcoming and helpful; from the time I contacted them to make reservations several months before our visit, to preparing our rooms before we arrived, offering suggestions for dining and activities during our stay, booking restaurants for our group of eight, and being there for us whenever we asked for their help.
We were very pleased to have been able to meet - and personally thank - the owner as well as the manager and the friendly staff of the Tavern.
There are several very good restaurants in Chestertown. We ate at three of them, and we were very happy with each of them.
We could not have asked for a more peaceful, beautiful place to celebrate these family events together.
We always look forward to our visits at the White Swan Tavern. And now our children do too.

Room Tip: Our family had four rooms for a weekend visit; all were very comfortable and wonderfully furnished w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, MD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Charming historical inn. Very friendly, helpful staff have all been there many years. We had several lively conversations with innkeeper Wayne. We came for the Downrigging (tall ships) and Sat. the weather was terrible and Wayne lit all the fireplaces and some of the candles Sat. night. There is a small television downstairs, which was great for checking on the dramatic weather that was closing in. We went to the Farmer's Market Sat. AM, which was excellent. The Quilt Show was fabulous. We will come back and with better weather we will spend more time walking around town. We enjoyed Afternoon Tea at the White Swan which is scheduled 3-5pm. Hot tea and the lit fireplace on a cold, very rainy Sat. afternoon was just wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite large and very quiet for being in the middle of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have stayed here on several occasions over the span of 10 years, the most recent being this month. It hasn't changed a bit! The rooms are generally spacious and authentically decorated. Old wood floors add to the charm and to the creakiness. Breakfast is set out on a tray at the time you designate and consists of your beverages selected (coffee, tea, juice), a basket of buns and breads, yogurt, jam and butter. They also provide a variety of boxed cereals on a side table. It is possible to eat in your room or on the patio tables, but we like the atmosphere of the old tavern room.
Be prepared to be without wireless internet and TV or phone in your room.
The location can't be beat, since it is in the center of town and within walking distance to the river, the coffee shop and several restaurants - 2 of them quite fine.

Room Tip: There are two ground floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our stay at the White Swan was nothing short of memorable. The entire experience was authentic and very romantic. Our room was beautiful and inviting; it was spacious, yet provided an atmosphere of intimacy and comfort. The rich history of the tavern was only enhanced by the incredibly knowledgeable and approachable inn-keeper. The staff was genuinely friendly and accommodating, which was refreshing. We have already made plans to return!! I recommend the White Swan to friends looking for a unique and relaxing getaway any time of the year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent a night here as part of a girl’s getaway weekend, and it was perfect. Neither of us had ever been to Chestertown and didn’t know quite what to expect, so we were delighted to find ourselves in an incredibly historic and charming town and a beautifully restored inn right in the heart of it! We arrived just in time for tea on Friday afternoon. We were greeted warmly by our host. Given a choice of breakfast in our room or in the communal dining room, we opted to have it brought to our room, but our server noticed us enjoying the patio early the next morning and asked if we’d like it brought there. Yes, it was just a continental breakfast (a previous reviewer complained), but we had yogurt, juice, breads and muffins and good coffee. It was a fine start to the day, and Chestertown has no lack of eateries for lunch and dinner. We loved our large room and private bath in the old kitchen. The White Swan was especially a find because many B&B’s on the Eastern Shore we looked at did not have any rooms with 2 beds, or if they did, they required a 2-night minimum on a weekend in the summer. We considered ourselves very lucky to have ended up here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Swan Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Tavern

Address: 231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.