We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Restored B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Swan Tavern
231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second visit to The White Swan Tavern, and I enjoy it and Chestertown more each time we return! On this visit, we stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen, which is a very large room with a beautiful stone furnace/firepalce and two beds. It is very private, as it sits apart in the back of the property, and overlooks a lovely garden and sitting area. I especially like that it has a seperate entrance from the rest of the White Swan. I've also stayed in the Wilmer Room, which is also charmingly authentic to the period. I really appreciate the warm and friendly staff, as well as the beautiful common rooms and sitting areas of the B&B. This has proven to be a great choice for a stay on Maryland's Eastern Shore!

Room Tip: The John Lovegrove Kitchen provides privacy as it has a seperate entrance from the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We went to Chestertown for the Tea Party Festival, including the 10 miler race. There were 4 women in our party so we stayed in the T.W. Eliason Victorian Suite and it was perfect. We arrived a little early prepared to store our bags and go to the festival but the cleaning crew was able to get the room ready early due to their early departure. They were very kind about it. We loved the patio area outside the inn's back entrance and enjoyed having a few drinks under the shaded trees. The location was perfect for us as we were able to enjoy the town's festivities without driving anywhere. The inn keeper is very friendly and helpful. I have two critiques. One is the twin bed in the suite is very, very soft and jiggles when sleeping. I woke a lot during the night because of this. The other is that the continental breakfast is a bit lacking. These are not deal breakers though as I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This inn is full of the past (in a good way!) and feels as if you have stepped back into America's early history. You can easily visualise people settled around the tables and in the parlour discussing issues of the day. We stayed in the John Lovegrove Kitchen which was great fun, and beautifully appointed.
The inn is centrally situated in the pretty town, with plenty of parking and the welcome from the staff and innkeeper were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I came here with my boyfriend for a wedding. The location is absolutely perfect - very close to everything, including the water. Very charming B&B, beautiful grounds. Very romantic spot to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the White Swan earlier this month to celebrate our 13th anniversary. It was an absolutely perfect stay. The White Swan is the most charming historic B&B I've ever been to -- and we've been to many. Its location is perfect -- right in the heart of colonial Chestertown, with an easy walk to the Chester River waterfront, restaurants, and shops. This is most definitely the finest inn on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, and ab absolute must-stay for a romantic get-away weekend. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

The physical setting of the tavern is lovely and very convenient to charming Chestertown. The ambience was of a 1700s home (with modern baths etc.).
Unfortunately, the breakfast part of the B&B was meager - just a few muffins, juice and coffee.. Our room was never serviced, nor were breakfast dishes removed until we found a person in the late afternoon who was the "manager/owner?" who finally picked up the dishes, made the bed and gave us fresh towels, complaining all the while that it "was not her job"
Also, for one of our two nights we were using a gift certificate we had PURCHASED on auction through a PBS television fund raiser , the owners had DONATED the one night stay. We were paying for our second night directly. The person on the phone kept referring to our "free" room.

  • Liked — Decor and feeling of actually being in a 1700s tavern
  • Disliked — SERVICE!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We spent a weekend at the Tavern and found it to be charming, welcoming and comfortable. For a unique experience, I would recommend the John Lovegrove bedroom which had actually been a kitchen. We were able to see some of the other bedrooms as well and all were beautiful and each had its own character. I felt as though we were visiting a historic house museum, only we could touch and use everything! Small details such as fresh flowers and a fruit basket added to our already pleasant stay and Wayne, the inn keeper, was very nice. Breakfast, which you could eat in one of the wonderful common rooms or have delivered to your bedroom, was delicious with fresh made pastries. The bathroom was a tad bit dated but very functional and clean and even had a heat lamp. I was impressed at the level of cleanliness in general. It is very evident that much care and attention has been put into this property and visitors can reap the benefits by experiencing a memorable stay at the Tavern.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Swan Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Tavern

Address: 231 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Swan Tavern to your Saves list