We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Olde Wharf Cottage...A December stay of Lights and Charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayard House Restaurant

Bayard House Restaurant
11 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-0583
410-885-5040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Olde Wharf Cottage...A December stay of Lights and Charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Olde Wharf Cottage………….Holiday lights and Activities.

This is the first day of our December 4th to the 8th, 2013 Holiday Getaway. I never tell Barb where we are going, or staying…………and as we pulled into the street parking space, I turned and said, “Well, there it is.”
Her lower jaw dropped for about 15 seconds, then she turned to me with a huge smile.
I just pointed to the Olde Wharf Cottage, that was just across this one lane road, and I could see her excitement to take a look inside.

This cottage is something that you would expect to see in Mystic Seaport, Connecticut.
It was decorated on the outside with some holiday lighting, floral decorations, and a decorated tree. It was cosy, yet spacious…………..rugged, yet soft……….weathered, yet charming. From the floor to the ceiling, you can spot some of the changes that were made to this cottage………but, that just made it all the more interesting.

A complete kitchen and bathroom were added to the first floor, and they looked better than most of the hotels we stayed at.

The stairs, that lead to the bedroom on the second floor, are narrow and steep. My wife has arthritic knees, and she made the trip to the bedroom with little trouble. The other option is a pull out sofa bed, in the living room.
Sturdy table and chairs for your meals, and the sofa and the other chair were nice to sit in.

The second floor bedroom was spacious, and the queen sized bed was firm. It is hard to control the heat, in both heating zones (first and second floors). The first floor heat goes right up the steps, and into the bedroom.
Take the time to listen to the bridge in the distance. An added treat was closing your eyes, and listen to what appeared to be Amish horse and buggies crossing the bridge.

Plenty of holiday lighting displays start right outside the cottage doors, and spread both ways. Many well decorated stores, houses, road archways, and much more, all in walking distance.

On some weekends, they have horse and buggy rides, activities with Santa, live music and entertainment, skating, great places to stay for your holiday/vacation getaway, and I heard that boat rides are sometimes available.

It was a good start for our 4 day holiday getaway.
The best to you all.
Jerryandbarb8 (our review name)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    14
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We go down to the Bay quite often from our home in Pa. Bayard House is a very good restaurant, great food, good service and a lovely view from the windows of the C & D Canal. We were down on 10/19-it was a beautiful day and the canal was busy with many boats heading down the Intercoastal waterway.
I want to especially praise our waiter, Ben, for his excellant service. For example, he thought my coffee had gotten cold and he placed a new cup on the table and filled it with hot coffee. Great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spectular view, so so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful view of the Canal! We ate outside and really enjoyed it. The food was fantastic but the service was very slow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

loved the historic atmosphere. the BAR, aptly named "the hole in the wall" gives you a warm cozy feeling of historic Revolutionary war era. Very Cool!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Service for starters was excellent. The food was spectacular. Best chef salad I have ever eaten. Atmosphere was so relaxing with a great view of the bay. Hands down a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayard House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Bayard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayard House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.