We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Service and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayard House Restaurant

Bayard House Restaurant
11 Bohemia Ave, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-0583
410-885-5040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband & I strolled through the quaint town of Chesapeake City and just found the Bayard House at the end of the street right on the water.
We stopped in for dinner and were very pleased the service, appetizers and entree. A little pricey, but it was fine dining. The atmosphere was relaxing and quiet...I guess because it was late afternoon. The restroom could use some renovating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    14
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Perfect place for a romantic meal, service is excellent, food is fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast by a professional chef.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Excellent crab cakes and I got them gluten free! We had a seat overlooking the C and D Canal which is a beautiful view.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An Expensive Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Atmosphere: Great. Service: OK. Food: Expensive & Average at best. Four "locals" dined here 11/13. In March the restaurant changed hands and we hoped there would be improvements. The trout stuffed with crab imperial was average. Imperial was dry and skimped on the main ingredient: crab. The sirloin strip was below average, too much pepper (it wasn't a blackened cut). Trout was $28, sirloin $25. Both served with a vegetable. Salads are ala carte. Skimpy bread plate (4 slices of a bread, 3 each of cracker and 2 other breads. Keep in mid that Maryland now taxes alcohol at 9%, food at 6%. Wine list needs serious improvement. The individual who had the sirloin ordered a side of crab imperial; it came in mid-meal with the waiter's apology. These "locals" won't return anytime soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bayard House Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

In Chesapeake City, Maryland, lies a top-flight restaurant in an elegant Victorian building overlooking the Chesapeake Canal. The food, atmosphere, decor, service and ambiance here were exceptional. We had a table by the large window facing the Canal and as we dined we were able to watch huge ocean going vessels traversing the Chesapeake Bay and the Delaware River.

We will always return to The Bayard House Restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayard House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Bayard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayard House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.