We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night with Trish and Vernon 11/26/13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schaefer's Canal House

Schaefer's Canal House
208 Bank Street, Chesapeake City, MD
1 (410) 885-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Date night with Trish and Vernon 11/26/13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great evening in this regionally famous dining location. Starting with the Crab dip appetizer, dinner was off to a great start. Entrees for the evening were the Broiled Seafood Dinner and the Cob Salad with Blackened Chicken and Broiled Salmon. Both entrees were delicious, with emphasis on the Sea Scallops and Salmon, both so easily overcooked but not here. Both were exceptional. Service was a bit lacking (had to wait several times for a little attention from our server) but it was acceptable given it was a slow evening and what appeared to be only 2 servers on the floor. New ownership reopened this establishment last year, and though they need to work on the service side of the business, the food selections (although very limited) proved to be nicely prepared and well presented. Located\ on the C&D Canal connecting Delaware River/Bay with the Chesapeake Bay, we watched as a large container ship passed the large picture windows of the restaurant. Nice little plus for the evening. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    71
    24
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I live in Australia and I worked here in the 1970s as a server....
It was nice to see this restaurant reopened and again a "place to go for visitors and locals alike".... The crab cakes are still great and the ambience excellent. What a wonderful place to watch the world from.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Now it's casual.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant when it was formal place. Then it closed for a while. Went for an anniversary dinner. We were over dressed. Service was good. We had ordered mixed seafood platter. The broiled seafood was perfectly cooked. We enjoyed the meal as well as the lovely view. We had gone for breakfast in April one sunday morning. The seafood omlet was perfect! Would recommend going again especially with a group of friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice outside deck seating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We decided to try this place even though we were told not to. We left the other side of the bridge after shopping the antique shops to have lunch here. We got an outside table right away but the service was really slow. The food was not enjoyable at all. The next time we will stay on the other side of the bridge for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

food was good, service was good, loved sitting outside to watch passing boats, Although it was busy (Labor Day weekend) they seemed well staffed and organized. Would like to go back again to try dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaefer's Canal House also viewed

 
Chesapeake City, MD
Chesapeake City, MD
 

Been to Schaefer's Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schaefer's Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.