We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Staycation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
“Quick Staycation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I took my children down for the Fourth of July Celebration. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The resort had activities going on for the holiday, which were enjoyable. There are several food options, but Rod-n-Reel is the better of them. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from a water park. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    126
    62
    20
    20
See reviews for
86
148
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As a single traveler, I particularly enjoyed having a comfortable desk for work, ability to sit on the balcony on the bay while working or reading, friendly staff, good food, and great entertainment. Having a small refrigerator in the room was also a plus.

Room Tip: Facing the bay is quiet and peaceful. Rooms facing the entertainment deck might also be preferred fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We live about an hour away from the hotel, and it's a nice place for a quick weekend getaway. The rooms are clean and nice, and most have views of the bay. I like the water view rooms with a balcony - the balconies have two chairs and if there's a band or deejay playing that night, you can sit outside and enjoy the music.

There's a outdoor bar and patio that serves a limited menu and delicious drinks. I'm a fan of the Orange Crush, which has mandarin vodka, triple sec, fresh orange juice and other stuff.

I've eaten at the main restaurant, the Rod and Reel and the food is pretty good. They have good steamed shrimp and crab cakes (although the size of the crab cake has shrunk in recent years :-(

The front desk staff are always friendly. I've never had an issue with my room that required help.

In nearby North Beach, you can check out the beach area, as well as the ice cream shop, artist co-op store, wine shop (that does wine tastings) and other little shops.

It's a cute area on the Chesapeake Bay.

Room Tip: The water view with the balcony gives you a nice view of the bay and costs less than the water front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
District Heights, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I visited for a oney night stay, our first time. The staff was nice and friendly. Rooms were clean, nice size and comfortable. We did not visit the spa but plan to do so on our next visit. We will visit again as a couple and with the children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I took two grandchildren and greatly enjoyed our stay. The boys loved "free" chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. I loved unlimited "free" coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at the downstairs coffee/breakfast bar. And I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the 2 bottles of water in our room were also free. Icing on the cake was the $3-off coupons for our meals at Smokey Joe's Grill on the hotel premises. There is a fun water park directly across the street of the hotel, and a delightful small beach about 1 mile south of the hotel. So we had tons of fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review of Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa and are glad to hear that you had a great time with your grandchildren. We are pleased that you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer here at the resort, and we look forward to having you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I used a living Social voucher for my stay last week. It was the 2nd time I did so in the past year. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. The 1st time I had a limited view which wasn't great, but expected given the great pricing. This time I had a water view which was much better. My only comment would be that since I arrived so late (8pm), why wasn't I given a room with an even better view since it was unlikey anyone else would be coming - especially on a Monday night? I noticed the room next to me (that had a balcony) was vacant.
The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The hotel very clean. The continental breakfeast nice AND set up on time (530AM) as that is the time I had to leave the next morning. I will definetely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view and, if available, a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that the staff was pleasant and accommodating, and that you enjoyed the continental breakfast we offer. We do upgrade rooms based on availability so we are sorry to hear that your room was not upgraded to a balcony room. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I visited for a one night stay. We found the staff friendly. The room clean and comfortable and the outdoor bar area fun with live music. I will visit again, I think the town is very quaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorin J, Marketing Coordinator at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide positive feedback. We strive to have excellent staff and service so we are happy to hear that your expectations were met. We look forward to having you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.