We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Riley, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Bought a weekend with a Living Social coupon and then read some of the reviews and was a bit worried about actually staying there! Had some difficulty finding a open weekend [bought the coupon in the fall] but was lucky enough to get one for our anniversary. Was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived...room was nice, LOVED the fireplace, though as another guest noted, they could use some updated linens. Enjoyed the water view, the bottle of wine and the soft robes. I have been to many spas and this one was quite nice...very quiet and relaxing, nice decor...I'd say an 8 out of 10.[would add some reading material and some type of fountain in the waiting area] Food was VERY good and well priced...had both of their crab soups and they were FABULOUS! Not much to do in the area but we were there to relax so that was nice. Very surprised that they do not have an outdoor pool or beach access...that was a disappointment. Staff was young but nice, everyone was pleasant. Prices would be too high to go back without a coupon...it's a nice hotel but certainly not worth the $350+ they charge for that room.

Room Tip: If you want to go to the spa would recommend that you make an appointment when you book your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    126
    62
    20
    20
See reviews for
86
148
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a one night stay/spa voucher/mealvoucher combo package from a GroupOn (or LivingSocial) deal. Our experience was very mixed, though had we read the reviews here we would have been better prepared. The property is largely staffed w/ teenagers - who were the most pleasant staff we encountered. The older staff who seemed permanent were largely clueless (no idea about area amenities, no ability to run front-desk check-in w/ grace, etc...) and frequently surly. One exception was a lady working the front desk who knew nothing about the area ("I've only been here a year and I don't get out much") but was very pleasant. However, when we went back to the "spa" (a word that misrepresents the actual facility) the same woman who just checked us in changed her shirt and then came to get us for our massage. EXTREMELY awkward and unsettling to have staff multi-tasking in that way. Uncomfortable for her and us both.

The guest room was nice sized, and the balcony view was lovely. The hotel could dramatically change the guest's experience by upgrading the bed linens. The sheets are scratchy and the bedspread/blanket was horribly uncomfortable and unpleasant to touch. We did not have the promised robes in our room but everything worked fine.

The service at the restaurants was very slow and sketchy, but the food quality was surprisingly good. (By dinner we had dramatically lowered our expectations so were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fish at the Rod N Reel.)

The single most disturbing thing was a problem they were having with room keys losing their electronic charge. Twice in our less than 24hr stay we had to have the keys reprogrammed. Each time they asked the room number and just recharged the key, without ever checking to ensure that we belonged in that room, had the same name as on the reservation, etc... I could have handed them the key and given them any room number and they would have handed it back to me fully charged. I find that an unforgiveable and dangerous security breach. It's easily remedied w/ some front desk staff procedures. However, the front desk staff (not teenages) were consistently unprofessional in handling check in, requests, the lines that were forming because they were unprepared for check-in at 3 pm, etc...

There was one man who I presume was probably the manager because he really did seem to care about the guest experience, delivered a bottle of wine to our room personally when it was overdue (and apparently delivered to the wrong room), greeted guests as though he was taking responsibility for the property, had a spotless staff uniform on, etc... If he trained the front desk staff to behave like he does it would elevate the property significantly. But please don't have your front desk person also be your masseuse. And buy softer bedspreads!

We probably wouldn't go back but it was adequate for a brief, low-cost, get-away.

Room Tip: Having a room with a water view and balcony here is pretty important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My spouse and I stayed for a 3 day weekend for a wedding event. The check-in process was a little shaky after our 4 hour drive....apparently, the front desk staff serving us had only been employed for about 4 weeks. Ok, everyone is a newbie at some point. We got to our room, beautiful view but much to my spouse's chagrin, the tv did not work. We called the desk and the manager came in less than 10 minutes and resolved the problem. He was very friendly and accomodating. We headed to Smoky Joe's for a bite to eat. There was no host, we were unsure if we were to seat ourselves as there was no one attending the host station. We waited for some time for some staff member to appear. However, we got seated finally. Food and service were good. Then, we went to the Boardwalk Cafe to have a drink and see what kind of night life was happening.....there was none. The bartender was tending to the customers inside but seemed to have no intentions of caring for those of us seated outside and a few times she left her post (up to 15 minutes sometimes). She rarely came to check on us and would refer to us as "honey" or "sweetie". Terms of endearment that I use for my spouse not a paying customer or stranger. The next day, we had breakfast at the Rod n' Reel, the hostess was busy but seemed to be cracking under pressure and did not make us feel welcomed and it was confusing as to who she was going to seat when there were multiple individuals waiting to be seated. The wedding reception above the Rod n Reel was again disappointing. Behind the sweetheart table there were holes in the wall and drywall needing to be patched. The wait staff was inexperienced and seemed to not care about their positions or have a work ethic. There was a pat of butter under the table I sat at. Understandably, it may have slipped away from one of the servers when they filled the butter bowl. It was all over the soles of my shoes and under my toes (as I was wearing open toed shoes). I asked the server if she would please get a damp rag and maybe some spray to soak up grease in the butter. She brought over cocktail napkins and no apology from her or an ounce of concern. I still felt slippery when I pushed my chair back to stand up from being seated so I asked her if she would bring a mop. She brought a damp linen napkin. She seemed to be more intrigued with the conversation she was having with another server. While waiting in line for the buffet, a staff member brought out a stack of dirty dishes. :( The last day of our stay we again went to the busy Rod n Reel for brunch. This time they got it right. Tess was the most friendly, professional, attentive and pleasant wait staff member we encountered there (she gets 5 stars). The hostess was quite curt with her as we had arrived a little late to the brunch with our group and apparently, upset the seating arrangements. Tess recovered it quite well and still made us feel welcomed. She took the heat from the cranky hostess. The rest of the staff should take a cue from her. She knows how to do her job and do it well. It's ashame about the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, we will not be back to visit. I have worked in retail doing customer service. I have worked in the food industry as a hostess at an upscale restaurant. I have been in the staff's shoes. Everybody gets overwhelmed but perhaps, better training in coping with stressful times at the resort? I am not a difficult customer but I am not a nobody. Please train your staff better or hire some people that exhibit a better work ethic and hold them to those standards. I am on the one on vacation, not the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We live in Virginia, about 60 miles from this hotel, so it was a convenient getaway for my husband's recent birthday. He had fished with his father out of the Rod n Reel pier here in the 60's, and we had been to the area a few times quite a while ago but had hever stayed overnight. This hotel is really the only game in town, and I researched it thoroughly before booking - including reading others' reviews here - so had realistic expectations for the stay (for example, I knew there was no "beach" right there at the hotel). I booked the Junior Suite, which is really a king room, but it was on the third floor (of 4 floors), and had a great little balcony overlooking the bay. We really enjoyed sitting out there, especially early in the morning and then in the evening, watching the gulls, geese, ducks and herons, and the fishing boats come and go, The balconies are not really private - they are separated by high rails - but we had good neighbors. We loved leaving the sliding glass door open all night (but with the screen in place), and going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. The room was clean, with plenty of towels and pillows, and two comfortable robes. There is a flat-screen tv, and a small fridge in a cabinet, and also a K-cup coffee maker, as well as a small table with two chairs, and a desk with a chair. Plenty big for the two of us. Interesting: the room had a jacuzzi (which we don't use), and the shower was in the jacuzzi, so it was a high step over the side and into the shower - and there is a big picture window right there, overlooking the bed and on out to the bay. There are indeed drapes and half-window shutters - controlled from the bedroom side. Starbucks coffee is available all day long in the lobby, at no additional charge, which is greatly appreciated. We were given discount coupons for breakfast at the Rod n Reel next door ($3 off per person), for both mornings, and the buffet was more than adequate - all the usuals that one would expect. The staff at all locations was super friendly and courteous. I had mentioned that it was my husband's birthday, and when we returned to the room on our first night, after dinner, we found a bottle of champagne on ice as well as about 10 balloons waiting for us. Nice touch. There is no beach right there, but if you drive about a mile or so up or down Bayside Drive, you'll have North Beach or Bayfront Park. Both charge a small fee for use of the beach. All in all, we had a very nice time because we had realistic expectations. It was nice to drive only about an hour and be so far away from all the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

A very nice facility and location. However, the modest advertisement on the resort website of "bingo" as an "activity" did not include the fact that overnight guests at this resort hotel could not enter, exit, take a walk on the pier, visit either restaurant or bar, or get to their car without having to weave in and out of the dozens of not-so-well-dressed or behaved guests of the casino-like video bingo parlor housing at least 200 video bingo machines.
The room was very nicely appointed and was comfortable. However, there was a dead earwig in a bed, the bathtub had a soap scum and hair ring, and a dirty, dried out washcloth was in our bathroom upon arrival for day one of a four day stay.
Service was terrible except for one front desk clerk and one waitress in the Rod and Reel, both of whom deserved and received our undying praise.
This hotel is a true monopoly. There are no other accommodations in Chesapeake Beach whatsoever. The service suffers from management's complacency in not having to vie for business. Also, they are obviously making all of their profits from the unregulated bingo parlor and don't need to please the overnight guests.
If its gambling you want, go to a regulated casino where you can be sure of its legality. If you want a weekend at a resort beach hotel, go elsewhere as there is NO BEACH !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We wanted a waterfront experience on our latest foray to the East and the Chesapeake Beach Resort did not disappoint. Our midweek getaway was affordable and fun. The waterview room with a balcony had a great view down the coast. The bay is so wide at this point that you feel like you're on the Atlantic. Spring had sprung and everything was in bloom - not sure what was producing the great smells but we loved it.
The resort was welcoming the season with a tropical theme - luau, dances, tiki lamps - it was charming. We were set on dinner at the Rod n'Reel Restaurant, however. The crab balls were to die for as was the cream of crab soup. In fact, everything was delicious and the wait staff were very attentive. We really enjoyed a bottle of Running Hare Chardonnay from a Virginia vineyard.
Our morning was spent enjoying the single-cup Keurig coffee and a swim in their indoor pool, all to ourselves! They even have a continental breakfast to take the edge off. When we left we cruised around the quaint little towns of Chesapeake Beach and North Beach - lots to explore next time! And we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a waterview and balcony so you can enjoy the ocean breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Chesapeake Beach Hotel & Spa has a great waterfront location. It does not sit on a beach. But, it does have a large marina where you can book charter fishing trips. The rooms are clean, modern, and well-equipped. A continental breakfast and free coffee are provided in the lobby. Their Rod 'N' Reel Restaurant serves good food and offers several tables with views of the marina.

Room Tip: The best rooms are their corner Junior Suites (419, 319, & 219) with King-size Bed; Jetted Tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear TALECATCHER
Thank you so much for the comments. We have shared them with all of our staff. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful visit. Please come and see us again.
Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.