We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable midweek getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable midweek getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We too had the "living social" deal and upgraded to the King suite. That suite was one of the nicest rooms we have ever had. It included a king bed, L shaped balcony, 2 person hot tub, mini refrigerator, 2 wide screen TVs (one for the bed and one for the sofa area) gas fireplace and gourmet coffee/tea/hot chocolate maker. The only downsides were a very weak WI FI signal and the only closet was in the bathroom. The free railroad/Chesapeake Beach history museum on site was a nice diversion. FOr those staying in a regular room, they do have spa tubs in the indoor pool area.

Room Tip: The king suites are worth the extra $50 with living social. The waterfront deluxe suites are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear GHMAGNUS
Thank you so much for the comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your entire visit to the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. I have shared your notes. with all of our staff. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful visit. Please come and see us again.
At Your Service:
Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    126
    62
    20
    20
See reviews for
86
148
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I went there for a weekend getaway. We got a "living social" deal, which made the whole thing very attractive, as they had a special discount on the suite, plus added a restaurant and a spa voucher. Got a $500+ value for $295. For that price we have no complaints. For the full price the food at the on-site restaurant would have been way below par (especially the mass-production cafeteria style breakfast), and the spa is too small ( i.e. you can't get any bookings) for a "Spa Resort". The view and location is fantastic, especially when booking the fireplace suites, which are directly above the water with a great view. Service is friendly and overall experience is as you would expect at a standard hotel in the US - it's not a Shangri-La in Malaysia...

Room Tip: any of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear JOCHENM:
Thank you for your TRIPADVISOR comments regarding your recent visit to The Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that you will come back and enjoy the view again soon.
At Your Service:

Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penhook, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel is "Not Pet Friendly", but there are are a couple of kennels nearby, if you get stuck with your dog and need a place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. Although we are not able to accommodate pets here at the Resort, we certainly do Love our Pets, and have options available. We have a complete listing of local kennels that can provide a vacation for your pet while you are enjoying yours on the Chesapeake Bay.
Please let me, or any member of our staff, know how we can assist you in the future.
At Your Service:
Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My son gave his wife a Christmas gift for a week-end at the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. It was a much anticipated get-a-away due to a very stressful year dealing with family illness and death. When they called to confirm not only the reservations, but the other activities that were scheduled they were told they only had room reservations. My son asked to speak with the manager and was told nothing could be done about it unless they wanted to arrive early in the morning for the couples massage and than not be able to check in until 3:00 p.m. Since they have small children leaving home at 6:00 a.m. was not an option. Considering the lack of customer service management gave them they decided to cancel their reservations and try to find a resort which could get it correct from the beginning and if they made a mistake at least try to be more accommodating.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear CAP41183:
I appreciate your comments regarding the reservation at the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa that your son made. I apologize that our Salon & Spa were not able to accommodate his requested service time. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible services at our Salon & Spa, with the industries best, licensed service providers. Unfortunately, we are only to provide this level of service by utilizing an appointment system, and occasionally we are not able to fulfill a first request for times due to scheduling restrictions.
In the event that your son has an opportunity to visit our area in the future, and would like to make a reservation at our Salon & Spa, please have him contact me personally to schedule his services.
Again, I am truly sorry that we did not have the availability for him.

At Your Service;

Richard Dane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a perfectly average place...nothing to send you screaming in either joy or terror. But they join the pantheon of companies who use incentives to fill up the place in the off season and then limit the availability! Saw a special on Living Social, called the hotel beforehand to confirm availability, bought the special, then called the hotel and was told that the room was open, just not available to those who bought this special! Spoke with management to no avail...again, there are many worse hotels out there, but just be aware that their idea of "available" is completely subjective and you may well be screwed. Disingenuous at best.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear OTTROSE:
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comment regarding your recent experience with the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa reservation process. We have partnered with Living Social to offer our Resort Experiences to our local communities, by offering packages to their members. It is our objective to provide these discounted Hotel Suite Packages as an introduction to our Resort & Spa. As the announcement from Living Social reflects, this promotion is for our King Suites and our Deluxe Suites; unfortunately, we have a limited number of Suites available, and the offer is subject to availability. This package also includes a Welcome Bottle of California Wine, a gift certificate to our CB Salon & Spa and a Certificate to use at one of the three restaurants at the resort. I apologize that we were not able to accommodate you on your selected dates, but I would like to discuss any alternate date you may be able to visit the resort, please contact me personally to assist you. Again, thank you for your input.
At your Service:

Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It was nice to get a free room since I am a bingo player. The room was decorated nice but I could hear the people in the next room from us talking, the beds were the worst, and the pillows were hard! I stay in a lot of hotels and usually in the nicer hotels and time shares the beds are soft. I did like the view of the water and the TV but thats it. I would only stay again if it was free.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeBchResort, General Manager at Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa. We always look forward to serving our “Winners Club” guests, and hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Your comments regarding our resort are important to us; please be aware that we are in the process of adding Serta Double Pillow Top beds to all of our Suites and Guest Rooms to make your next visit even more enjoyable.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your Buffet at our Rod n Reel Restaurant on Sunday morning.
If I can be of any assistance to you with your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me.
At Your Service:

Richard Dane
General Manager
Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I had a very enjoyable and relaxing visit last weekend. Our room was a bit dated, but clean. The bed was comfortable, and the view was incredible (we had a waterfront balcony room).

Pros: The staff. We couldn't get over how friendly and accommodating the staff were. We were constantly greeted by the staff and they were always making sure that our needs were being met. Top notch service in my book! We also liked that we had a Keurig machine in the room and access to flavored creamers in the lobby. The free continental breakfast was nothing fancy, but it was good. As another reviewer noted, it is also great that they post quiet signs in the halls to help curb noise at night.

Cons: The biggest con for us was the free Wifi. It would let us connect via iPad or laptop, but the connection only lasted a couple of minutes before it kicked us off. There were two computers off of the lobby for guest use though, so I was still able to check my email.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4165 Mears Ave, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Location: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Chesapeake Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chesapeake Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Chesapeake Beach
Chesapeake Beach Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.