We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too crowded and too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Water Park

Chesapeake Beach Water Park
4079 G Stinnett Blvd., Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water Parks
Attraction Details
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“too crowded and too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We too used a groupon. We made the mistake of going on a Sunday afternoon. To say it was crowded is an understatement. If you have seen the new diary of a whimpy kid it looked a lot like the pool at the beginning of the movie. There were no chairs and people brought their own and lined them up such that it was hard to move around. There were over 150 people in the lazy river and about 50 floats. Many would take them back to their seats and hoard them. You cannot bring in food and a hot dog (alone nothing with it) will cost you, no joke, $7. They ran out of their overpriced pizza,French fries and bottled water. My kids, 11 and 8, were ready to leave after a short time. Maybe it would have been different on a Wednesday afternoon. We will never know because we don 't plan on going back. When we were leaving I stopped by their store to get my kids these really neat squirt guns they sell there. It was 6:00, they close at seven, the clerk said they were doing inventory and couldn't sell anything. NEVER AGAIN

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    7
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun but needs some improvements/updated/CLEANING!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a good park and we usually go every summer, but I feel like I need a Lysol bath after leaving. The pools are fairly clean, so I guess that's the most important part (along with VERY attentive lifeguards), but the carpets that cover the walkways are GROSS and need to be replaced. The bathrooms are disgusting. There is no way I would let my kiddo's feet touch the ground.

Hate the fact that you have to buy food onsite--- NO EXCEPTIONS. It's overpriced and overall very unhealthy.

Yes, it's crowded, and I'm actually OK with this. And true, you may not get a chair and I'm OK with that, too. I just wish they could funnel some of the profits from the food into de-yukking the facilities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun Family Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Groupon had a deal for 1/2 price tickets so we decided to go. I have a 16 and 11 yr old. I would def say this is more for younger kids. There was only 2 big slides for adults and older kids. The lazy river was my favorite. It does get very crowded so I would advise going early. We arrived at 10am and people were lining up, so if you want a chair, get there early. Also, you are not permitted to bring in any food or drinks. They want you to buy from them. It is way over priced and the food was terrible. When leaving I asked if you were allowed to come back in as long as you have your wristband on and they said yes. My advice would be pack a lunch in a cooler and go to your car and eat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good small water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a clean and well designed park. it is close to the bay and other hotels, never very crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Summer Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love taking my family to the water park and telling them stories of my youth about the Chesapeake Beach amusement park.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Beach Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Beach Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Beach Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chesapeake Beach Water Park to your Saves list