We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarbakers

Sugarbakers
752 Frederick Rd Ste 2, Catonsville, MD 21228-4535
(410) 788-9478
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 102 Restaurants in Catonsville
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

After several samplings we found the baked goods to be hit or miss ... mostly miss. And, for the popularity and price ($25 for a 6-inch round cake), it's quite disappointing to say the least. Ordering and picking up is easily accomplished and the bakery is clean and welcoming ... a display case offers a variety of ready-to-buy pastries, cakes and treats. The brownies are good, not great, (try the pecan if available!), the cake flavors are mouthwatering but come up short in taste and the elcairs are simply awful with the filling having no flavor whatsoever. Can't speak on the pies but they are baked fresh and need to be ordered at least a week in advance same as cakes. Decorations and details on cakes are beautiful, the problem is with the texture and taste of the baked goods at any given time. Our favorite? A very moist Apple Spice cake slice taken from the display case on a whim. We instantly wished we could have replaced the Raspberry Amaretto cake we bought with those delicous slices. Overall opinion? Unfortunately, a product of an overrated bakery in an area with little to no competition.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Lifeis1bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Buttercream frosting? No, just BUTTER.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stopped by for a birthday cake for my mom in Jan and was pleasantly surprised by the lovely personalized decoration and real flowers the young lady behind the counter added. The frosting however, though lovely in appearance and texture, had no flavor at all. It tasted like butter. Maybe butter flavored Crisco. It was awful. The raspberry almond cake was fairly tasty, it was just a shame to pay so much and end up throwing away the icing. The brownie was yummy though.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty treats - terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I went to Sugarbakers to order a cake for my son's 1st birthday. I waiting in line for over 30 minutes - at one point people who came in after me were helped before I was even acknowldged. I walked out.

We did go back on another occasion and purchsed some slices of cake - it was delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGB1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best cake you'll find for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My fiancé and I got a cake from here for our wedding and so many of our guests claimed it was the best they've ever had. I of corse never got a piece on my wedding day and so I appreciated the complimentary 1 year anniversary cake. It's expensive but sooo worth it!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhineandMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

it was just okay did I mention it was very expensive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank scharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarbakers also viewed

 

Been to Sugarbakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing