We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candle Light Inn - CLOSED

Candle Light Inn
1835 Frederick Rd, Catonsville, MD 21228-5537
410-788-6076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Could be a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This could be a great place as it is in an old house that has been turned into a restaurant. Although my filet mignon was very good, everything else was marginal. The menu could use revamping. The dessert I didn't even eat and who doesn't dessert? This place was kind of
disappointing we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    5
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Classic Setting Updated Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Every town has one - that restaurant that time forgot. The sort of place where people with teased hair go to have a scotch on the rocks and a good steak. The setting is an old Victorian home, usually. Well, you can have that sort of fare at the Candle Light Inn but they have updated their menu. While they are still not exactly cutting edge you can get such dishes as monkfish with fingerling potatoes or blackened Mahi Mahi. My dining companion had the aforementioned monkfish and a lovely piece of tender white fish it was. We both started with silky scallops over fresh corn that had been pan fried with bacon. Yum. I selected the tenderloin over blue cheese mashed potatoes. The pan reduction tasted wine-y and there were caramelized whole mini onions on the side. I think blue cheese will be making a guest appearance the next time I mash a potato. The drink menu had some lovely martinis and a selection of manhattans. The only beer is in the bottle so we opted for a very reasonably priced cava instead. They were out of our first choice for dessert (peach crumble with vanilla ice cream) so we went for the vanilla bean cheesecake and a bourbon bread pudding. They did not disappoint. Ask to be seated on the patio when the weather is fine or go cozy with interior seating in this lovely old house. Service was very attentive but they should use a tray to carry drinks to the table. Warm rolls were adequate but could be kicked up a notch in quality and variety to accompany the chef's creations. We would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RALEIGH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Private birthday party, 18 people, buffet meal. Private room just the right size, nicely decorated. Servers very attentive, helped with cake (brought in from a bakery) and candles. Food was excellent, especially crab dip and salmon. Would definitely have another party here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Setting in Very Old Establishment of Colonial Era!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great Setting with Very Good Food! Really enjoyed the experience at this Restaurant!
Our meal was delicious and was a good value with our Groupon certificate

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, USA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Classy local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Candle Light Inn has been in Catonsville longer than the 28 years I have been. It has seen a few different owners, and has had a large outdoor dining facility appended to its traditional facade. I would definitely say the current owners are the best of the group, and do a very nice job at cooking delicious food which presents well, at a fair price. While not the most creative menu or the most robust bar, the Inn appeals to those who are looking for a moderately priced traditional upscale dining experience. The food is delicious and carefully prepared and presented by an attentive staff which always has a local flavor. We look forward to our 6 or 7 trips per year to the candlelight, now more than ever. So convenient to the heart of Catonsville, but still just outside of town center so you feel like you are "away". Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candle Light Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candle Light Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.