We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local joint with decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jennings Cafe

Jennings Cafe
808 Frederick Rd, Catonsville, MD 21228-4505
410-744-3824
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Catonsville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice local joint with decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went for the first time today. Decor is worn. Little too dark for lunch, but probably OK if it was nighttime and we were there for the bar. Table wobbled the entire time which is not cool with a 4-yr. old boy. Thought things were going flying off the table several times. Staff was great and attentive. My iced tea was never empty.

Good turkey on my Hot Turkey. Hubby got the best BLT he's ever had (he really likes them and says that there is a science behind it. Whatever...he loved it!) Onion rings were good, but not homemade. Chips and fries were nothing unique. My son got the small pizza. It actually was really good. My wish--they had some sides of veggies (steamed vegetables, etc.) rather than the unhealthy stuff. At least offer it. Most people won't have them so it's not like they'd lose money.

Got dessert that the waitress said was homemade coconut cake. It was actually good. Coconut cake can be make a number of different ways and this one wasn't bad--not anything to write home about though.

Bathrooms were small, very clean and looked recently made over. Beautiful tile. In older restaurants like this, you never know what you are gonna get in the bathrooms, but this was lovely.

We'll definitely return as we are so burned out from chain restaurants. Only thing that kept this from a very good rating is the tired decor and many items are not homemade.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you eat at any one place in Catonsville, this is the one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a long time standard in Catonsvile that has been beautifully redone on the outside. This is old school without the smoke. The wait staff is great and AWARD winning with the Baltimore Waitress of the Year (who has her own room with awards). Summer time brings out the beer garden in back for the Friday night music series. The shrimp salad is fantastic. Never had a bad experience there or a bad choice off the menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where Everybody Knows Your Name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We go to Jennings at least once every two weeks. The food is consistant and like home. The oyster stew, when in season, is Always a great starter. They have a variety from surf to turf. Check the specials board for daily updates.

The people are friendly and the service is good. A very good local bar/resturant. We always sit at the bar. The beer is always cold!

Jennings is good for families or a quick in and out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I return frequently to Jennings. We have never had a bad item. It is our go-to restaurant as we are tired of cookie-cutter chains. I love the atmosphere and the local flavor. The fried chicken and house salad are the best.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Its our once or twice a week fave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We are there quite a bit. Sue, Cindy, Peg are great on the wait staff. Teddy in the kitchen is always a treat. Its a fun reliable tasty place. You aren't paying a million bucks to eat so don't expect it. It is what it is. However compare to those around it. Its worth so much more. The are very consistent so if something isn't to your liking, just tell them. They used to have real or crinkle fries and they were the best anywhere. Now thin ones. still good. But everything else is superb. We have lived all over the country and we always come back to Jennings. Now that we live here we are here several times a week. They do need a few more draft beers and a few appetizer updates.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennings Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jennings Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennings Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.