We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5801 Baltimore National Pike, Catonsville, MD 21228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catonsville
Cresaptown, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay in this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

While staying for 3 nights at this hotel, I was initially very pleased. Everyone was nice and the hotel appeared clean. I am not a traveler and rarely go anywhere so I was very pleased with my agencies choice of hotels. However, a few days after I returned home, I had several bites on both arms. Long story short they were bed bug bites. I was not at all judgmental of the hotel but called to inform them and was very disappointed when they insinuated that there were no bed bugs before I stayed but were there when I left. We all know that the room was not "thoroughly" inspected for bed bugs before I checked in. It was an emotional enough and I had tremendous concern as to whether or not I brought them home with me. Luckily it does not appear that I brought any bed bugs home with me. It wouldn't have hurt for them to own up to the situation..i could have handled it better that way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmft, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
This was a misunderstanding. While the incident of finding bed bugs in the room was true, I had a professional conversation about how bed bugs in hotels beds are becoming a problem and how these pests transport themselves. Fortunately we don't have an alarming bed bug problem. While bed bugs were found in the room, also confirmed by our pest control person, the room was not infested. By saying so I didn't mean to say that the particular guest brought in the uninvited pests but they got in there somehow, we don't know. This was later clarified with the guest through couple phone calls and email. I regret having led guest to believe that she brought in the bugs and I'm very happy we were able to resolve the unfortunate incident professionally and amicably. We will do everything to make sure guests are satisfied with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
13
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

This hotel has zero curb appeal to begin with and reception apparently has never been through customer service training. The hallways reek of mildew and the carpet is dull and stained throughout. There isn't any pride of ownership here; the walls and ceiling are visibly soiled and dingy. The bedspread and tub was stained/dirty and when I went to complain to the "staff" she told me that I should have let her know sooner than 2 hours after check in (we just dropped off luggage and went for dinner). She never apologized for the inconvenience. When housekeeping arrived he didn't identify himself as such and when I pointed out the stains and dirt he tried to talk me out of it. Although the tub was cleaner than when they arrived once it was cleaned properly. The new bedding they put on the bed was equally as stained as the first set and also had cigarette burns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmft, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Sorry about your unplesant stay but new management is deligently working to satisfy guest inconvenieces and dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

On a recent trip to the Baltimore area I was able to book a very fair rate at this Comfort Inn. Located right off the expressway, it is a short ride to the Inner Harbor area and Pimlico Racetrack. The hotel is showing signs of age, however, the room was clean and comfortable and more than OK for the nite. The front desk staff was helpful w/ directions and recomendations for the area. Plenty of parking available when returning at nite. Overall, it is your average comfort Inn, nothing special but it suits your needs for a basic room for the night.

  • Liked — Clean room at a fair price
  • Disliked — Surrounding Area may be Questionable at night
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmft, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your business, glad that you enjoyed staying here. Hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
896 reviews 896 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
675 helpful votes 675 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Nice little hotel that is safe and clean inside the rooms. The rug on the top floor hallway needs to be replaced but it seems they are redoing the entire hotel.

The free breakfast is pretty good and the wireless is free.

A good value for the buck here at Comfort Inn. Great location for Tabu club.

  • Liked — Location to Tabu
  • Disliked — Third floor rug really needed replacement
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I just got back from a four day vacation in Baltimore. I chose this location because of the price and convenience to attractions. For 80 dollars a night, it could not be beat, especially considering you also get free breakfast every day. While bagels, waffles, and muffins might not be the most exciting foods, they did the trick and saved us the money of eating out. Being right near the expressway was very convenient as we were able to get to the Inner Harbor and Annapolis very easily. While the neighborhood just east of here was a bit scary, I felt very safe at the Hotel. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

The front staff were very helpful and were able to recommend local places to eat that weren't "touristy". Having Internet access in the room was very nice and when they had a problem it was resolved very quickly.

As for someones note about having to go outside to get into the lobby, that is not true. From the second floor (the main floor actually), you can go right in through a door.

  • Liked — Convenience to area attractions
  • Disliked — Location may be a bit iffy for some...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

The hotel is really not located in a great part of town. They have main doors where you need keys to even access the building. The lobby is located adjacent to the building, so you have to go outside if you need anything. The rooms are average. The doorway was smaller than most. I had to leave the luggage cart in the hall and hand carry them in.
The room was okay. The floors were dirty and need to be steam cleaned.
The plus' of the hotel: The room had a fridge, microwave, and an in room safe was available. The ice machine was stategically located.

Not much to do around the area. A few fast food restuarants, but being only 7 miles from the inner harbor, I would eat down there. Also, I don't know how safe this place is at night. I would only recommend this place, if you need to stay at this exit. Other than that, look at other accomadations. This one is a bit pricey,$75 a night and not a good value for the money. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Fairly quiet and a comfortable bed were the positive features. Room was not real clean and one of the chairs was ready to fall apart. Took a VERY long time to get any hot water from the shower and the bottom of the bathtub was not well cleaned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 5801 Baltimore National Pike, Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Catonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Catonsville
Comfort Inn Catonsville
Catonsville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.