We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worse Comfort Inn I've ever stayed in, NEVER again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5801 Baltimore National Pike, Catonsville, MD 21228   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Catonsville
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is the worse Comfort Inn I've ever stayed in, NEVER again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

This hotel has zero curb appeal to begin with and reception apparently has never been through customer service training. The hallways reek of mildew and the carpet is dull and stained throughout. There isn't any pride of ownership here; the walls and ceiling are visibly soiled and dingy. The bedspread and tub was stained/dirty and when I went to complain to the "staff" she told me that I should have let her know sooner than 2 hours after check in (we just dropped off luggage and went for dinner). She never apologized for the inconvenience. When housekeeping arrived he didn't identify himself as such and when I pointed out the stains and dirt he tried to talk me out of it. Although the tub was cleaner than when they arrived once it was cleaned properly. The new bedding they put on the bed was equally as stained as the first set and also had cigarette burns.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmft, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Sorry about your unplesant stay but new management is deligently working to satisfy guest inconvenieces and dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
12
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

On a recent trip to the Baltimore area I was able to book a very fair rate at this Comfort Inn. Located right off the expressway, it is a short ride to the Inner Harbor area and Pimlico Racetrack. The hotel is showing signs of age, however, the room was clean and comfortable and more than OK for the nite. The front desk staff was helpful w/ directions and recomendations for the area. Plenty of parking available when returning at nite. Overall, it is your average comfort Inn, nothing special but it suits your needs for a basic room for the night.

  • Liked — Clean room at a fair price
  • Disliked — Surrounding Area may be Questionable at night
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmft, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your business, glad that you enjoyed staying here. Hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
856 reviews 856 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
596 helpful votes 596 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Nice little hotel that is safe and clean inside the rooms. The rug on the top floor hallway needs to be replaced but it seems they are redoing the entire hotel.

The free breakfast is pretty good and the wireless is free.

A good value for the buck here at Comfort Inn. Great location for Tabu club.

  • Liked — Location to Tabu
  • Disliked — Third floor rug really needed replacement
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I just got back from a four day vacation in Baltimore. I chose this location because of the price and convenience to attractions. For 80 dollars a night, it could not be beat, especially considering you also get free breakfast every day. While bagels, waffles, and muffins might not be the most exciting foods, they did the trick and saved us the money of eating out. Being right near the expressway was very convenient as we were able to get to the Inner Harbor and Annapolis very easily. While the neighborhood just east of here was a bit scary, I felt very safe at the Hotel. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

The front staff were very helpful and were able to recommend local places to eat that weren't "touristy". Having Internet access in the room was very nice and when they had a problem it was resolved very quickly.

As for someones note about having to go outside to get into the lobby, that is not true. From the second floor (the main floor actually), you can go right in through a door.

  • Liked — Convenience to area attractions
  • Disliked — Location may be a bit iffy for some...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

The hotel is really not located in a great part of town. They have main doors where you need keys to even access the building. The lobby is located adjacent to the building, so you have to go outside if you need anything. The rooms are average. The doorway was smaller than most. I had to leave the luggage cart in the hall and hand carry them in.
The room was okay. The floors were dirty and need to be steam cleaned.
The plus' of the hotel: The room had a fridge, microwave, and an in room safe was available. The ice machine was stategically located.

Not much to do around the area. A few fast food restuarants, but being only 7 miles from the inner harbor, I would eat down there. Also, I don't know how safe this place is at night. I would only recommend this place, if you need to stay at this exit. Other than that, look at other accomadations. This one is a bit pricey,$75 a night and not a good value for the money. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Fairly quiet and a comfortable bed were the positive features. Room was not real clean and one of the chairs was ready to fall apart. Took a VERY long time to get any hot water from the shower and the bottom of the bathtub was not well cleaned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

We were staying in the immediate area and looked at the Ramada, the Days Inn and the Comfort Inn. Friends and online reviews warded us from the former two as they sounded unclean and unsafe. Even though the Comfort Inn was $20 more, if it was better, it would be worth it.
It was.
Nothing in the room or hotel was broken or unclean. We had a mini-fridge and a microwave. The lobby had free breakfast (not great, but free) and a free internet kiosk (nice plus).
You could tell the area wasn't too safe because they used a night window with plexiglass, but it did seem like they took enough precautions for our safety and we felt safe during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 5801 Baltimore National Pike, Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Catonsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Catonsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Catonsville
Comfort Inn Catonsville
Catonsville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.