We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regions - CLOSED

Regions
803 - 805 Frederick Road, Catonsville, MD 21228
410 788 0075
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mellor
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've dined here 2-3 times, most recently for my wife's birthday. The atmosphere is classy but relaxed, very inviting. Knowing it was byob (with a $5 corking fee), we brought in my wife's favorite bottle of wine and a specialty beer for me. The grilled Caesar salad (and warm breadbasket) was a good start, and then our entrees, a panko bleu cheese crusted steak and a sauteed seafood with mozzarella ravioli dish were great. After tip and counting the $ we spent on alcohol, it was a meal that left nothing desired for around $100. Not cheap, but worth the experience for our special occasion.

We will definitely go back.

Oh also, I was pleasantly surprised that they took our reservation for just 2 on a Saturday night. I assumed that they wouldn't but called ahead around 6:30 in case they could do the "call ahead seating" thing, but was offered a reservation for 7:45. The timing was perfect. Of course that depends on the night...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Love bringing our our bottle of wine. Great atmosphere, and have NEVER, EVER had a meal that wasn't either VERY GOOD, or EXCELLENT. Servers are attentive, and prices are great for what you get. Fresh, fresh, fresh, Great restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton,MD
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hadn't been in Catonsville for many years and to find a restaurant like Regions was unexpected. Our group of 12 on a Saturday night was handled very efficiently and graciously. Nice bread baskets - enjoyed the cornbread. Lobster bisque was very nice. My sandwich - the Crisfield Club - was good, but could have used some kick. Had a taste of a salmon sandwich - further proof that bacon helps everything - that was outstanding. A few desserts were ordered and all were very satisfying. The BYOB idea is brilliant. Everyone came away very pleased and ready to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Cooking with Twists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love this place, and not just because it's BYOB. I love the Tapas menu, and the appetizers, and the SALADS! I don't think I've said that the salads are great at a place before, but at Regions it's like a five star chef married your grandmother and all they do is cook up the best home-style food with pizazz, and serve it to you with a smile.
I also love the fact it's in Catonsville, one of the great small towns in Maryland, which offers charm and decent parking compared to going into the City.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've lived in Howard Co. for 20 yrs. but seldom ventured up Frederick Rd. into Catonsville. Did so recently and discovered this wonderful restaurant! Cool, modern atmosphere. Small, intimate. They have short water glasses and the waiters bring these cool bottles to fill them up. Our waiter really knew his menu as I was asking lots of questions (too much TopChef, poor guy...). The bread basket was very yummy--cornbread and then a yeast roll that tasted absolutely delicious. We never order appetizers, but after we saw the 3 dips that came with the fresh cut fries, we couldn't resist. Mustard Aioli – Asiago Cheese Sauce – Horseradish Aioli. They were wonderful! Hubby got Crispy Panko Chicken and I got the Margarita Salmon which was on special. We were both very pleased with our dishes. We both took home doggy bags. Hubby obsessed with his and ate it later that night. I warmed mine up for lunch the following day and it was still wonderful. I love dessert and their menu looked great, but alas, no room due to the appetizer & bread :-( Next time!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regions also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.