We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Nayar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Nayar
801 Frederick Rd, Catonsville, MD
410-788-8198
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Traditional Mexican Cuisine
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional Mexican Cuisine
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I lived in santa fe, NM for years. This is rather tasteless. but expensive for what you get

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Taco bell tastes better!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were very excited when we moved to catonsville that there was a mexican restaurant! Unfortunately, hands down, this was the worst mexican i have ever eaten. Everything was dry and little flavor. Service was poor and i am being kind. We will not go again - ever.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty good Tex Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My first visit was pleasantly surprised with the food. I thought it was very good. I would go back with my family.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severna park, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food- choose another place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The food was terrible. I don't know why anyone would return to this restaurant. The steak on the fajita platter was very touch and tasted gamey. The nachos were ordered and the cheese was like cheese in a can with green and salsa in it. The iced tea came out of a machine. The orders did not come out together. Terrible food! Bad service. Definitely skip this place.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have to say I was highly disappointed in the meal I got from the Catonsville location this evening. There were 2 young people manning the register and dining room who actually fought over who was going to serve me- the loser took my order. It was a simple to go order.

I ordered the 3 taco platter:

Three Tacos Platter
3 Corn Tortilla Tacos filled with your choice of Chicken,
Carne Asada, Barbacoa or Mixed topped with Cabbage,
Cilantro, Raw onions, Radish, Lime and Sautéed Onions on
the side. Served with Refried Beans and a side of
Guacamole or Pico de Gallo. $10.99

I asked for no raw onion and no cilantro. The cabbage, radish, and cooked onions were not included and the dish was drowned in cilantro. I will add though that the Barbacoa was tender and juicy

I also ordered the Chile Relleno:

Chile Relleno
Roasted Fresh Poblano Pepper Stuffed with Shredded Jack
and Cheddar Cheese, Tomato, Onions and Cilantro, then
Battered and Sautéed. Served with a side of Flour Tortillas,
Rice & Beans. $12.99

It was drowned in a red sauce not mentioned on the menu, was spicy to the point of inedible, the batter was burned, and there was no rice.

I also ordered a side of guacamole and chips which was not placed in the bag.

I spent $30 on a meal that was worth $10.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Nayar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nayar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.